SOURCE: Butkus Foundation

Butkus Foundation

November 21, 2016 09:03 ET

Butkus Award® 32nd Season College and High School Finalists Announced

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwired - November 21, 2016) - Finalists for the 32nd annual Butkus Award® honoring the nation's best collegiate and high school linebackers were announced today by the Butkus Foundation.

Butkus Award 2016 Collegiate Finalists

Kendall Beckwith LSU
Zach Cunningham Vanderbilt
Jarrad Davis Florida
Reuben Foster Alabama
Josey Jewell Iowa

Butkus Award 2016 High School Finalists

Baron Browning Kennedale, Texas
Levi Draper Collinsville, Okla.
Anthony Hines Plano East, Texas
Nate McBride Vidalia, Ga.
Dylan Moses IMG Academy, Bradenton, Fla.

Collegiate and prep winners will be announced on or before December 6. The pro winner will be announced in early 2017. Selection is handled by a panel of 51 coaches, recruiters, scouts and journalists who vote separately and confidentially using a 3-2-1 process. Selectors and selection criteria are posted at

The 2015 Butkus Award winners:

  • Professional: Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers
  • Collegiate: Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame (now Dallas Cowboys)
  • High School: Caleb Kelly, Clovis West, Calif. (now Oklahoma)

The Butkus Award® is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. In addition to honoring top linebackers, the Butkus Award helps spread the word about the I Play Clean™ initiative which encourages teens to eat well, train hard, and play with attitude instead of resorting to performance-enhancing drugs. The Butkus Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which includes the 22 most prestigious awards in college football with 722 years of selection excellence.

Contact Information