SOURCE: Butkus Foundation

Butkus Foundation

November 25, 2013 09:00 ET

Butkus Award® Collegiate and High School Finalists Announced

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwired - Nov 25, 2013) - Finalists for the 29th annual Butkus Award® honoring the nation's top football linebackers were announced today by the Butkus Foundation. 

Selection is completed by a panel of 51 coaches, recruiters, scouts and journalists who follow all applicable rules involving player interaction. Winners will be announced by December 10. The Butkus Award draws attention to the I Play Clean™ program, an effort encouraging athletes to "train hard, eat well, and play with attitude" instead of resorting to performance-enhancing drugs. 

Finalists include (alphabetically):

Collegiate 2013 Butkus Award Semi-Finalists:
Anthony Barr: UCLA
Khalil Mack: University at Buffalo
C.J. Mosley: University of Alabama
Ryan Shazier: The Ohio State University
Shayne Skov: Stanford University

High School 2013 Butkus Award Semi-Finalists:
Dillon Bates: Ponte Vedra High School, Ponte Vedra, FL
Kain Daub: Sandalwood High School, Jacksonville, FL
Michael Ferns: St. Clairsville High School, St. Clairsville, OH
Raekwon McMillan: Liberty County High School, Hinesville, GA
Tre Williams: St. Paul's Episcopal High School, Mobile, AL

Last season's Butkus Award winners were: Manti Te'o, Notre Dame (San Diego Chargers), Jaylon Smith, Bishop Luers Fort Wayne, Ind., (Notre Dame), and Von Miller, Denver Broncos.

Considered one of the greatest football players in history, Dick Butkus was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1979, following an illustrious career with the Chicago Bears, University of Illinois and Chicago Vocational School. Meanwhile, his son Matt, a defensive lineman for USC's 1990 Rose Bowl winning team, joins his father in philanthropic efforts. 

The Butkus Award, or facebook at 51.butkus, is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. It is part of the National College Football Awards Association, a coalition of the major collegiate awards. More information is available at

Contact Information