SOURCE: Butkus Foundation

Butkus Foundation

October 22, 2012 12:15 ET

Butkus Award® Collegiate and High School Semi-Finalists Announced

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwire - Oct 22, 2012) - Collegiate and high school semi-finalists were announced today for the 28th Annual Butkus Award® honoring the nation's top football linebackers. Nominees are posted at

The 12 collegiate semi-finalists include two returning nominees. Meanwhile, the 12 high school semi-finalists are from 11 states, with two from Florida. Finalists will be announced November 20 and winners will be announced by December 4. Meanwhile, the professional winner will be announced in early 2013.

The Butkus Award honors outstanding linebackers at three levels of play, while spreading the word about the I Play Clean™ initiative, which encourages teens to eat well, train hard, and play with attitude, instead of resorting to performance-enhancing drugs. More information is available at or at

"This Award is about honoring linebackers at all levels, and reminding them that they have a responsibility to serve as role models and to give back to society," said Dick Butkus, the legendary Pro Football Hall of Fame linebacker.

Collegiate 2012 Butkus Award Semi-Finalists:
Steve Beauharnais - Rutgers
Arthur Brown - Kansas State
Jonathan Brown - Illinois
Max Bullough - Michigan State
Gerald Hodges - Penn State
Jarvis Jones* - Georgia
Dion Jordan - Oregon
Michael Mauti - Penn State
Kevin Minter - LSU
C.J. Mosley - Alabama
Trent Murphy - Stanford
Manti Te'o* - Notre Dame

* Denotes 2011 Semi-Finalist

High School 2012 Butkus Award Semi-Finalists:
Alex Anzalone - Wyomissing, Pa.
Chans Cox - Blue Ridge, Lakeside, Ariz.
Michael Deeb - American Heritage, Plantation, Fla.
Reuben Foster - Auburn, Ala.
James Hearns - Lincoln, Tallahassee, Fla.
Trey Johnson - Central Gwinnett, Lawrenceville, Ga.
Peter Kalambayi - Butler, Matthews, N.C.
E.J. Levenberry - C.D. Hylton, Woodbridge, Va.
Courtney Love - Cardinal Mooney, Youngstown, Ohio
Isaac Savaiinaea - Punahou, Honolulu, Hawaii
Jaylon Smith - Bishop Luers, Fort Wayne, Ind.
Tim Williams - Univ. Laboratory School, Baton Rouge, La.

The Butkus Award is selected by a 51-person panel comprised of scouts, coaches and journalists coordinated by Hub Arkush of Pro Football Weekly. Selectors follow all rules of their leagues, including limitations on contact with players. Individual votes remain completely confidential. Last season's Butkus Award winners included: Terrell Suggs (Ravens) and DeMarcus Ware (Cowboys); Luke Kuechly of Boston College (Panthers); and Noor Davis of Leesburg, Fla. (Stanford).

Considered one of the greatest football players in history, Butkus was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1979, following an illustrious career with the Chicago Bears, University of Illinois and Chicago Vocational School. Meanwhile, his son Matt, a defensive lineman for USC's 1990 Rose Bowl winning team, joins his father in philanthropic efforts. More information is at

The Butkus Award, or, is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. It is part of the National College Football Awards Association, a coalition of the major collegiate awards. More information is available at

Contact Information