SOURCE: Butkus Foundation

Butkus Foundation

October 28, 2013 09:00 ET

Butkus Award® Collegiate and High School Semi-Finalists Announced

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwired - Oct 28, 2013) -   Leading candidates for football's prestigious Butkus Award® honoring the nation's top football linebackers were announced today by the Butkus Foundation. 

The 12 collegiate semi-finalists include returning finalist C.J. Mosley of Alabama. The 12 high school finalists are from eight states, with three each from Ohio and Florida. Finalists will be announced November 26 and winners will be announced by December 10. The pro winner will be announced in early 2014.

The Butkus Award honors outstanding linebackers at three levels of play, while spreading the word about the I Play Clean™ initiative, which encourages teens to eat well, train hard, and play smart, instead of resorting to performance-enhancing drugs. More information is available at or at

"This Award is about honoring linebackers at all levels, and reminding them that they have a responsibility to serve as role models and to give back to society," said Dick Butkus, the legendary Pro Football Hall of Fame linebacker.

Collegiate 2013 Butkus Award Semi-Finalists:  
Anthony Barr   UCLA
Lamin Barrow   Louisiana State University
Chris Borland   University of Wisconsin
Khairi Fortt   University of California
Khalil Mack   University at Buffalo
C.J. Mosley*   University of Alabama
Denzel Perryman   University of Miami (Fla.)
Trevor Reilly   University of Utah
Ryan Shazier   The Ohio State University
Shayne Skov   Stanford University
Yawin Smallwood   University of Connecticut
Kyle Van Noy   Brigham Young University

* Denotes 2012 Semi-Finalist

High School 2013 Butkus Award Semi-Finalists:
Dante Booker   St. Vincent-St. Mary, Akron, OH
Kyle Berger   St. Ignatius High School, Cleveland, OH
Christian Miller   Spring Valley High School, Columbia, SC
Nyles Morgan   Crete-Monee High School, Crete, IL
Dwight Williams   Junipero Serra High School, Gardena, CA
Raekwon McMillan   Liberty County High School, Hinesville, GA
Kain Daub   Sandalwood High School, Jacksonville, FL
Tre Williams   St. Paul's Episcopal High School, Mobile, AL
Connor Strachan   St. Sebastians School, Needham, MA
Dillon Bates   Ponte Vedra High School, Ponte Vedra, FL
Michael Ferns   St. Clairsville High School, St. Clairsville, OH
Jacob Pugh   Godby High School, Tallahassee, FL

Butkus Award honorees are selected by a 51-person panel comprised of scouts, coaches and journalists. Selectors follow all rules of their leagues, including limitations on contact with players. Individual votes remain completely confidential. Last season's Butkus Award winners were: Manti Te'o, Notre Dame (San Diego Chargers); Jaylon Smith, Bishop Luers Fort Wayne, Ind. (Notre Dame); and Von Miller, Denver Broncos.

Considered one of the greatest football players in history, Dick Butkus was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1979, following an illustrious career with the Chicago Bears, University of Illinois and Chicago Vocational School. Meanwhile, his son Matt, a defensive lineman for USC's 1990 Rose Bowl winning team, joins his father in philanthropic efforts. More information is at

The Butkus Award, or, is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. It is part of the National College Football Awards Association, a coalition of the major collegiate awards. More information is available at

Contact Information