Canadian Automobile Association (CAA)

Canadian Automobile Association (CAA)

July 30, 2012 06:00 ET

CAA Celebrates Opening of Trans-Canada Highway 50 Years Ago Today

Automotive Journalist's Road Trip Hits Rogers Pass site where highway was completed

ROGERS PASS, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwire - July 30, 2012) - Award-winning journalist Mark Richardson is celebrating the anniversary of the opening of the Trans-Canada Highway in the place where it happened 50 years ago today, in the Rogers Pass near Revelstoke, BC.

Richardson has been recording stories of the Trans-Canada Highway this summer as he retraces the iconic route from coast to coast. This two-month journey, in commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the first road trip across Canada and the 50th anniversary of the completion of the Trans-Canada Highway, began June 4th in St. John's, NL and will finish August 8th in Victoria, BC.

Richardson's celebration today will be less complicated than the original opening of the cross-Canada highway. In 1962, then-Prime Minister John Diefenbaker and then-B.C. Premier W.A.C. (Wacky) Bennett weren't getting along - and held competing ribbon cuttings.

Today marks a more personal milestone for Richardson as well - his 50th birthday. He will celebrate along with his 12-year old son, Tristan, who has been keeping his father company for the majority of the Trek.

"Mark's unique sense of humour, excitement for adventure and thorough understanding of the Trans-Canada Highway's history have truly highlighted its significance to our country and those who rely on it every day, " said Jeff Walker, Vice-President of Public Affairs, CAA National. "It's the very human stories that we've read about over the past 57 days that have demonstrated to Canadians the practical impact the route has had, and will continue to have, on building our nation."

Having dipped his wheels in the Atlantic Ocean to kick off his journey, Richardson will complete his Trans-Canada Trek in Victoria by dipping his wheels in the Pacific Ocean on Wednesday, August 8th. Canadians have been able to trace Mark's trip online on his Trans-Canada Trek blog, and at @WheelsMark and @CAA on Twitter. His weekly video blogs can also be viewed on TheCAAChannel on YouTube.

About Mark Richardson

Mark, formerly the editor of the Toronto Star's Wheels section and its wheels.ca website, is now the editor of the MFuel automotive supplements in Maclean's magazine. He is a veteran of North American road trips and has driven to every province, territory and state on the continent. His daily accounts of a family drive in an RV last July from Toronto to Tofino became the third most popular blog that month on thestar.com, behind only that newspaper's coverage of the Blue Jays and the Raptors. For this summer's 10-week road trip, he will be driving a yellow 2012 Chevrolet Camaro convertible provided by General Motors, and will be sponsored by the Canadian Automobile Association; once home, he intends to write a book about the experience.

About CAA

CAA is a federation of nine clubs providing more than 5.6 million Members with exceptional emergency roadside service, complete automotive and travel services, member savings and comprehensive insurance services. CAA also advocates on issues of concern to its members, including road safety, the environment, mobility, infrastructure and consumer protection.

Mark Richardson's 2012 Trans-Canada Trek Itinerary

Monday, June 4: Official start to journey. Dip wheels in Atlantic at St. John's.
Friday, June 8: Arrive Port Aux Basques
Saturday, June 9: Ferry to Nova Scotia, stay in Cape Breton
Monday, June 11: Ferry to PEI
Thursday, June 14: Cross Confederation bridge to New Brunswick, head back east to Halifax
Tuesday, June 19: Dip Wheels in Atlantic at Halifax, stay night at Amherst
Wednesday, June 20: Stay night at Moncton
Thursday, June 21: Stay night at St. John
Friday, June 22: Stay night at Fredericton
Saturday, June 23: Stay night at Grand Falls
Sunday, June 24: Enter Quebec, stay night at Riviere du Loup
Monday, June 25: Stay night at Quebec City
Wednesday, June 27: Stay night at Montreal
Thursday, June 28: Stay night at Ottawa
Friday, June 29: Home to Cobourg
Tuesday, July 3: Drive up Hwy. 7 to Ottawa, stay night at Ottawa
Wednesday, July 4: Head north on Hwy. 17, stay night at Rapides des Joachims
Thursday, July 5: Stay night at Sudbury
Friday, July 6: Return south to Cobourg
Tuesday, July 10: Drive north, now with 12-year-old son. Stay night in Sudbury
Thursday, July 12: Stay night at Sault Ste. Marie
Friday, July 13: Stay night at Wawa
Saturday, July 14: Stay night at Marathon
Sunday, July 15: Stay night at Thunder Bay
Monday, July 16: Stay night at Dryden
Tuesday, July 17: Stay night at Kenora
Wednesday, July 18: Stay night at Winnipeg
Friday, July 20: Stay night at Brandon
Saturday, July 21: Stay night at Regina
Sunday, July 22: Stay night at Moose Jaw
Monday, July 23: Stay night at Swift Current
Tuesday, July 24: Stay night at Medicine Hat
Wednesday, July 25: Stay night at Calgary
Saturday, July 28: Stay night at Banff
Sunday, July 29: Stay night at Golden
Monday, July 30: Birthday! At the Rogers' Pass. Stay night at Revelstoke
Friday, Aug. 3: Arrive in Vancouver, dip wheels in Pacific
Sunday, Aug. 5: Ferry to Nanaimo
Monday, Aug. 6: Stay night in Port Alberni
Wednesday, Aug. 8 Arrive in Victoria, dip wheels in Pacific again

Contact Information

  • To book an interview with Mark Richardson or the CAA:
    Alayne Crawford
    Manager of Public Affairs
    613-796-9404
    acrawford@national.caa.ca