Calgary TELUS Convention Centre

October 20, 2009 14:21 ET

Calgary Mayor and Alberta Minister of Tourism, Parks and Recreation to Present Inaugural Friends of Canada Awards in Live Telecast Ceremony Linking Calgary and London, England

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - Oct. 20, 2009) - Calgary TELUS Convention Centre:

Attention: Business and City Editors

Calgary Mayor Dave Bronconnier and Alberta Minister of Tourism, Parks and Recreation Cindy Ady will honour ten Alberta-based innovators and leaders in the not-for-profit sector, as well as with their international affiliate organizations, during the first-ever Friends of Canada Awards ceremony this Wednesday, October 21, 2009, at the Calgary TELUS Convention Centre.
Initiated by the Calgary TELUS Convention Centre and supported by the City of Calgary and Government of Canada, the Friends of Canada Awards were created to recognize and extend thanks for the valuable work that is being done by individuals working in industries that play a key role in the future economic, social or environmental development of the Commonwealth of Canada.

The Calgary ceremony for individual award recipients will be linked via a live telecast to an event being held at Canada House in London, England, and attended by representatives of international affiliate organizations. This will allow the awards to recognize the work being done by not-for-profit industry groups at both the local and international levels. In addition to the local award, a $5,000 research package donated by Global Research and Intelligence Network will be presented to each affiliate organization to assist them in growing their industry's influence, research, education and/or membership.

What: Friends of Canada Awards 
             Live telecast between Calgary and London, England

When: 11:30 am – 1:30 pm
             Wednesday, October 21

Where: Calgary TELUS Convention Centre
              Chinook Rooms
              120 9th Avenue SE, Calgary, AB T2G 0P3

Alberta Award Recipients

Dave Budge and Diane Humber, CBC Calgary
Awarded for their commitment to ensuring cultural diversity across all programming and to service Calgary's diverse and evolving demographic.

Dr. Sandra De La Ronde, Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada
Awarded for her leadership among Western Canadian Women's Health practitioners.

Dr. Ryan Lee, University of Calgary
Awarded for his commitment and time given to Academia and to the risk and insurance profession through his advisory roles within non profit organizations.

Eileen Johansen, Girl Guides of Canada – Alberta Council
Awarded for promoting post secondary education among child and adult members through the provincial scholarship program.

Dr. Man Chiu-Poon, member of International Society of Haematology
Awarded for his efforts in promoting haemophilia care within Calgary, Canada and to the rest of the world.

Dr. Schultz, Alberta Dental Association and College
Dr. Schultz unfortunately is unable to attend the awards. We would like to recognize his contribution to the development of the Alberta dental industry and the support provided to dentist practitioners through out Alberta.

Mark Wolff, Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada, Calgary and Area Chapter
Awarded for the contribution to Calgarians living with Multiple Sclerosis through the many programs and services offered by the Society, such as support counseling and peer link.

Justyna Kos, Calgary Geotechnical Society
Awarded for student development and an innovative approach to an industry skills shortage through facilitating the Student/EIT Travel scholarship.

Kent R. Anderson, Miller Thomson
Awarded for Miller Thompson's promotion of Canada and representation of Calgarians through its involvement in Multilaw, the worlds leading law network.

Judy Martin, Canadian Mental Health Association Calgary Region
Awarded for mental health promotion in the Calgary Community and Workplaces through programs such as lasting Impressions, Continuing Connections and other education programs offered.

Brian Wik, Alberta Association of Optometrists
Awarded for contributions to the 'Canadian Optometrists of Tomorrow' through the Graduate Matching Service.

Dr. Wilkes and Dr. Cawthorpe, International Association for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Allied Professions
Awarded for their hard work and dedication towards winning the bid to host the 2016 IACAPAP World Congress in Calgary.

Contact Information