Department of Justice Canada

Department of Justice Canada

May 17, 2010 11:34 ET

Call for Entries for 11th Annual Justicia Awards

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 17, 2010) - Nominations are being sought for the 11th annual Justicia Awards for Excellence in Journalism.

The Justicia Awards celebrate outstanding broadcast and print or Web journalism that foster public awareness and understanding of the Canadian justice system. The criteria for judging entries are accuracy, originality, effectiveness in explaining issues to the public, informational value and insight. The Awards are sponsored by the Canadian Bar Association (CBA) and the Department of Justice Canada.

Two prize winners, one for excellence in broadcast and one for print or on-line publication, will be chosen by an independent judging panel selected by the CBA and the Department of Justice. The Awards will be presented at the CBA's Canadian Legal Conference in Niagara, Ontario in August.

Last year, journalist Peter McKnight of the Vancouver Sun was the winner in the print category for three columns on crime and punishment published in February and March 2009. A team from Global News Calgary, including reporter Mia Sosiak, photographers George Glen and Bruce Aalhus, and editor Joe McDaid, was the winner in the broadcast category for a November 2008 series "Court of Hope" on Calgary's Drug Treatment Court.

The nomination deadline is June 11, 2010, for stories that were published or broadcast between May 16, 2009 and May 15, 2010.

Nomination forms and a full description of the judging criteria may be obtained on-line at or by contacting Rose Steele, Canadian Bar Association, at 1-800-267-8860 ext. 155 or

(Version française disponible)

Contact Information

  • Canadian Bar Association
    Rose Steele
    Media Coordinator
    613-237-2925 or 1-800-267-8860 ext. 155
    Department of Justice Canada
    Stephen Bindman
    Special Advisor