April 26, 2012 13:23 ET

Call for Nominations: CWA Silver Hard Hat Award Recognizes Construction Industry Leaders

CHICAGO, IL --(Marketwire - April 26, 2012) -  The Construction Writers Association (CWA) is now accepting nominations for its Silver Hard Hat Award. The award recognizes individuals for outstanding contributions either in service to the construction industry or service to CWA. Entry deadline is July 1.

The Silver Hard Hat Award is CWA's most prestigious award and has been presented since 1969. The award is not necessarily given every year.

CWA members are unique in that they comprise both construction journalists and marketing communications professionals. Both members and non-members may submit entries, for themselves or others. The award recognizes significant actions and deeds over an extended period, not just the current or past year.

"The roster of Silver Hard Hat Award winners is truly impressive, a chronicle of dedicated industry professionals from the past 40-plus years," said Judy Schriener, Silver Hard Hat committee chair and a freelance journalist, radio talk show host and author based in Columbia, Md.

Judging criteria and applications are available on the CWA website, For more information, contact CWA at 1(773) 687-8726 or

The Silver Hard Hat recipient and other CWA award winners will be honored at the Grand Awards Dinner on Oct. 23 during CWA's 2012 Annual Conference, "CONNECTED." The meeting will take place Oct. 22-24 at the DoubleTree Hotel by Hilton in Crystal City, Va., just minutes from downtown Washington, D.C.

The Construction Writers Association (CWA), founded in 1958, is a non-profit, non-partisan, international organization that provides a forum for journalism, photography, marketing, and communications professionals in all segments of the construction industry to connect with other professionals and enhance skills through education. Visit our website at

Join us on LinkedIn at,
Facebook at
and Twitter at!/CWA_Tweets.

Contact Information