Parks Canada

Parks Canada

July 07, 2008 18:36 ET

Canada Applauds New Nova Scotia World Heritage Site: Unesco Names Joggins Fossil Cliffs as Newest Site in Canada

QUEBEC CITY, QUEBEC--(Marketwire - July 7, 2008) - The Honourable Peter MacKay, Minister of Defence and Minister of the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, today welcomed the designation of Joggins Fossil Cliffs, Nova Scotia, as Canada's newest World Heritage Site. UNESCO's World Heritage Committee made the announcement at its annual meeting, which is being held in Quebec City this year.

"This designation came about due to the hard work of many concerned individuals in Joggins who, along with the Government of Nova Scotia, have done a tremendous job demonstrating the tremendous value of the Joggins Fossil Cliffs," said Minister MacKay. "The fossil forests of Joggins are unique, and I'm very proud that this site has joined this exclusive club known as World Heritage Sites."

Joggins Fossil Cliffs World Heritage Site has been termed the "Coal Age Galapagos" and are the world reference site for the Coal Age period. The "grand exposure" of rocks contains the best and most complete known fossil record of terrestrial life in the iconic "Coal Age" including standing tree trunks up to 6 m high, a vast array of invertebrates, fish, amphibians and remains of the world's earliest reptiles. The site encompasses a 15 km strip of sea cliffs embedded with fossils, often more than 30 m high, along the coast of the Upper Bay of Fundy.

"As a Nova Scotian, I'm delighted with the decision made by the World Heritage Committee," said Minister MacKay. "This designation will attract not only Canadians, but also international visitors who are looking for unique experiences."

A property is included on the World Heritage List when the World Heritage Committee determines that it meets one or more of the ten criteria that define "outstanding universal value." The World Heritage List currently has 855 sites, including the Historic District of Old Quebec, the Galapagos Islands in Ecuador, the Acropolis in Greece, Stonehenge in the United Kingdom, the Great Barrier Reef in Australia and the Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks.

Canada has now 15 World Heritage Sites. For more information on Canada's World Heritage Sites and Canada's Tentative List for potential World Heritage Sites, please visit Parks Canada's Web site at

On behalf of all Canadians, Parks Canada manages a system of national historic sites, national parks and national marine conservation areas that is recognized as one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected areas in the world.

Parks Canada has a mandate to present nationally significant examples of Canada's natural and cultural heritage to Canadians, today and in the future. Parks Canada is the Government of Canada's representative for the UNESCO World Heritage Convention.

(Also available on the Internet at under Media room.)

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of the Environment
    Eric Richer
    Press Secretary
    Parks Canada
    National Corporate Communications Branch
    Joanne Huppe
    Media Relations Advisor