Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation

Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation

June 07, 2005 10:32 ET

Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation Announces New Members and Directors

MONTREAL, QUEBEC--(CCNMatthews - June 7, 2005) - The Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation announced today the appointment of three new individuals to its Board of Directors and five new individuals to its Council of Members. It also saluted the outgoing members of both its boards, offering thanks for their dedicated service.

Gerard Veilleux, Chairman of the Foundation's Board of Directors, announced the appointment of the following to its Board of Directors:

- Mr. Ron Bilodeau, vice president, government affairs, Canadian
Pacific Railway
- Mr. Jeeshan Chowdury, alumnus of the Canada Millennium Scholarship
Foundation's Millennium Excellence Award Program, currently
pursuing an M.D./Ph.D. at the University of Alberta
- Ms. Mary Simon, former ambassador for Circumpolar Affairs,
currently a freelance consultant.

Mr. Veilleux also announced the appointment of the following to its
Council of Members:

- Dr. Claude Lajeunesse, president and vice-chancellor, Ryerson
- Mr. Denis Losier, president and CEO of Assumption Life
- Dr. Janice MacKinnon, professor of public policy at the University
of Saskatchewan
- Ms. Penny Milton, executive director, Canadian Education
- Dr. Frederick C. Miner, president of Seneca College of Applied Arts
and Technology

"I am pleased to welcome this distinguished group to the Foundation's boards," said Mr. Veilleux. "They have each made a significant contribution to Canadian society, and the Foundation looks forward to working with them in the future. I also take this opportunity to heartily thank the outgoing directors and members for their dedication to improving access to post-secondary education and for their thoughtful service to the Foundation. I wish them well as they move on to other endeavours."

The new members and directors assume functions occupied by individuals who had completed their terms of service.

The Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation is neither a private corporation nor a government department or agency. Its governance calls for the appointment of members as well as directors. The members play the role of trustees or shareholders, and the directors establish policy and assume the other responsibilities normally associated with individuals who sit on a Board of Directors.

In accordance with its legislation, the Foundation is governed by a fifteen-person Board of Directors who are accountable to the public through the Foundation's fifteen members. Six of the Foundation's directors, including the chair, are appointed by the Government of Canada, and nine are appointed by the Foundation's members. The Council of Members appoint its own new members. The members of the Foundation represent the Canadian public, performing the role normally associated with shareholders of a private corporation. Each year members invite the public to a meeting to consider the Foundation's annual report and other matters relating to its activities. All directors and members are Canadian citizens and are drawn from a diverse spectrum of Canadian society, representing every region of the country. They have been chosen for their experience in the field of education, their sensitivity to the priorities of today's students and their knowledge of Canada's economic needs. Two students sit on the Board of Directors and two others serve as members.

The Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation is a private, independent organization created by an act of Parliament in 1998. It encourages Canadian students to strive for excellence and pursue their post-secondary studies. The Foundation distributes $300 million in the form of bursaries and scholarships each year throughout Canada. Since its inception, it has awarded more than $1.6 billion in the form of more than 520,000 bursaries to Canadian post-secondary students.

Contact Information

  • Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation
    Jean Lapierre
    Director of Communications
    (514) 284-7235