Deloitte

Deloitte

February 22, 2011 08:03 ET

Canada's 50 Best Managed Companies Announced

Winners Set Pace in a Reset World

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Feb. 22, 2011) - The winners of Canada's 50 Best Managed Companies for 2010 are setting the pace for Canadian business by putting growth back on the agenda.

Fifty of the country's leading private organizations, spanning a wide array of industries, have earned the distinction of Best Managed Company by demonstrating business excellence through a rigorous and independent process that evaluates their management abilities and practices.

"After two years of shoring up, deleveraging balance sheets and focusing on cost reduction strategies, Canadian businesses now have growth back on the agenda," said John Hughes, Deloitte partner, Private Company Services, and national leader of Canada's 50 Best Managed Companies Program. "Clearly we're not out of the woods yet, but one of the most impressive aspects of this year's award recipients is the focus of management teams and employees on growth and investment."

Combined, 2010's 50 Best Managed Companies generated $11.5 billion in revenue and employed over 52,000 Canadians.

"By pursuing innovation and investing in meeting the needs of their clients, this year's winners have made a positive impact in the Canadian marketplace," said Jon Hountalas, Executive Vice-President, Business Banking, CIBC. "We applaud their success and we're proud to recognize their contribution to Canadian business."

Growth means different things to different companies and the following are just some of the ways Canada's Best Managed Companies are directing their CEOs and management teams to drive higher revenue and profit in the years to come.

Best Managed Companies see growth opportunities via mergers and acquisitions.

Over the next 12 to 24 months, there will be a significant amount of merger and acquisition (M&A) activities as private companies see growth opportunities in acquiring competitors or complementary businesses. Companies which have weathered the storm and have maintained solid core businesses, and those with realistic valuations and multiples will become attractive return on investments opportunities for private companies.

• Best Managed Companies drive innovation across their organizations.

This year's winners understand the ability to innovate is a strategic competitive advantage for their organizations. Whether it's the shop floor, back office or the front-line delivery of products or services, re-engineering operations continues to be on the agendas of Canada's Best Managed Companies.

• Best Managed Companies employ detailed and divergent strategies for business south of the border and beyond.

A continuing theme for Canadian private companies is managing their exposure to the U.S. market. Many companies see this as a huge opportunity to capture market share, grow revenue, relocate manufacturing facilities and engage in M&A activities. On the flipside, another emerging theme is Best Managed Companies' desire to reduce their exposure to the U.S., and pursue acquisitions or other collaborative investments such as joint ventures and alliances on a global scale, with growing interest in South America, Europe, China and other parts of Southeast Asia.

• Best Managed Companies build close relationships with customers.

Helping their customers weather the last year was a key focus of Best Managed Companies. While many companies focused internally, this year's winners concentrated on their customers' issues and how to solve them as a means of strengthening their own business.

• Best Managed Companies plan for succession or business transition.

Succession planning will be a mega trend private companies will experience over the next 10 years. With the aging population, planning for a massive transfer of wealth – including the ownership of a significant number of Canadian private companies – means that preparing strategic succession plans continues to be a theme with this year's recipients.

• Best Managed Companies adopt green strategies.

In support of their overall growth, Best Managed Companies increased their adoption of green strategies. Those tied to the energy supply chain saw significant opportunities in serving an expanding global market domestically and internationally. Others investigated how making their organization greener could support cost-reduction initiatives, increase their reputation as good corporate citizens by protecting the environment, and help to attract the socially conscious Gen-Y labour force.

2010 Best Managed Winners

Company Name   City Prov Website
4Refuel   Langley AB www.4Refuel.com
Artopex inc.   Granby QC www.artopex.com
Associate Veterinary Clinics   Calgary AB www.associatevets.com
BCF s.e.n.c.r.l. / LLP   Montréal QC www.bcf.ca
Cactus Restaurants Ltd.   Vancouver BC www.cactusclubcafe.com
Calco Environmental Group   Brockville ON www.calcogroup.com
Capital Paving Inc.   Guelph ON www.capitalpaving.net
CBI Health Group   Toronto ON www.cbi.ca
Charm Diamond Centres   Dartmouth NS www.charmdiamondcentres.com
Chaussures Régence inc.   Québec City QC www.regence.ca
Crestline Coach Ltd.   Saskatoon SK www.crestlinecoach.com
Dessau Inc.   Laval QC www.dessau.com
Evertz Technologies Limited   Burlington ON www.evertz.com
Farm Boy   Ottawa ON www.farmboy.ca
Fengate Capital Management   Toronto ON www.fengatecapital.com
First Air   Kanata ON www.firstair.ca
Gentec International   Markham ON www.gentec-intl.com
Geo. A. Kelson Company Limited   Newmarket ON www.kelson.on.ca
GreenField Ethanol   Toronto ON www.greenfieldethanol.com
Gregg Distributors LP   Edmonton AB www.greggdistributors.ca
Groupe Robert inc.   Rougemont QC www.robert.ca
Hatch   Mississauga ON www.hatch.ca
Holt Renfrew   Toronto ON www.holtrenfrew.com
Ideal Supply   Listowel ON www.idealsupply.com
Imperial Manufacturing Group Inc.   Richibucto NB www.imperialgroup.ca
Johnvince Foods   Toronto ON www.johnvince.com
Kaizen Automotive Group   Calgary AB www.kaizenautomotive.com
LASIK MD   Montreal QC www.lasikmd.com
Le Groupe Master   Boucherville QC www.master.ca
Losani Homes   Stoney Creek ON www.losanihomes.com
Maple Lodge Farms Ltd.   Brampton ON www.maplelodgefarms.com
Maple Reinders Group Ltd.   Mississauga ON www.maple.ca
McCain Foods (Canada)   Florenceville-Bristol NB www.mccain.ca
Medcan Clinic   Toronto ON www.medcan.com
Pfaff Automotive Partners   Vaughan ON www.pfaffauto.com
Quality Foods   Qualicum Beach BC www.qualityfoods.com
RGO Office Products Partnership   Calgary AB www.rgo.ca
Ronald A. Chisholm Limited   Toronto ON www.rachisholm.com
Running Room   Edmonton AB www.runningroom.com
S.i. Systems Ltd.   Calgary AB www.sisystems.com
Sargent Farms   Milton ON www.sargentfarms.ca
StarTech.com   London ON www.startech.com
Supreme Group   Edmonton AB www.supremegroup.ca
The International Group, Inc   Toronto ON www.igiwax.com
The Miller Group   Markham ON www.millergroup.ca
TransX Group of Companies   Winnipeg MB www.transx.com
triOS College Business Technology Healthcare   Mississauga ON www.trios.com
West Wind Group of Companies   Saskatoon SK www.westwindaviation.ca
Western Sales Ltd.   Rosetown SK www.westernsales.ca
White Spot Limited   Vancouver BC www.whitespot.com

2010 Best Managed winners, Platinum Club members, and Requalified members will be honoured at the 18th annual, invitation-only Best Managed Symposium and Gala on March 29, 2011 in Toronto.

About Canada's 50 Best Managed Companies

Canada's 50 Best Managed Companies continues to be the mark of excellence for Canadian-owned and managed private companies with revenues over $10 million. Every year, since the launch of the program in 1993, hundreds of entrepreneurial companies have competed for this designation in a rigorous and independent process that evaluates their management skills and practices. The awards are granted on three levels: 1) Best Managed winner (one of the 50 new winners selected each year); 2) Requalified member (repeat winners retain the Best Managed designation for two additional years, subject to annual operational and financial review); 3) Platinum Club member (winners that maintain Best Managed status for a minimum of six consecutive years). Program sponsors are Deloitte, CIBC, National Post and Queen's School of Business.

Best Managed has launched an online community for private companies: a new Best Managed channel on the Financial Post (FP) Executive site. A collaborative effort by Deloitte, CIBC and FP Executive, the new micro-site is aimed at showcasing Best Managed insights gleaned over our 18 years of celebrating the stars of Canada's private company stage.

For further information, visit www.canadas50best.com

About Deloitte

Deloitte, one of Canada's leading professional services firms, provides audit, tax, consulting, and financial advisory services through more than 7,600 people in 57 offices. Deloitte operates in Québec as Samson Bélair/Deloitte & Touche s.e.n.c.r.l. Deloitte & Touche LLP, an Ontario Limited Liability Partnership, is the Canadian member firm of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited.

Deloitte refers to one or more of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited, a UK private company limited by guarantee, and its network of member firms, each of which is a legally separate and independent entity. Please see www.deloitte.com/about for a detailed description of the legal structure of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited and its member firms.

Contact Information