Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

December 18, 2006 16:00 ET

Canada's New Government Announces 2007 Cultural Capitals of Canada

EDMONTON, ALBERTA--(CCNMatthews - Dec. 18, 2006) - On behalf of the Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Status of Women, the Honourable Rona Ambrose, Minister of the Environment, accompanied by Stephen Mandel, Mayor of Edmonton, today announced the names of the five communities that will be the 2007 Cultural Capitals of Canada. The following communities have been designated:

- Edmonton, Alberta
More than 125 000 population category

- Comox Valley, British Columbia
50 000 to 125 000 population category

- Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Less than 50 000 population category

- Baie-Saint-Paul, Quebec
Less than 50 000 population category

- Wendake, Quebec
Less than 50 000 population category

"The Government of Canada is dedicated to enriching the lives of Canadians by supporting projects that increase their access to the arts and culture," said Minister Oda. "The Cultural Capitals of Canada program celebrates the unique character of Canadian municipalities and recognizes the important role they play in highlighting the richness and diversity of our culture."

"Edmonton's designation as a cultural capital demonstrates the city's cultural leadership across the country," said Minister Ambrose.

"The cultural and creative communities are what inspire life and excitement in a city," said Edmonton Mayor Stephen Mandel. "Edmontonians wholeheartedly endorse, celebrate, and support these vibrant and vital industries. We will be proud to carry the title of Canada's Cultural Capital through 2007."

The Cultural Capitals of Canada Program highlights the achievements of communities that demonstrate an ongoing commitment to the arts and culture. These prizes are awarded for merit, for the quality of the proposed project, and for the previous achievements of the candidate communities.

The funds given to the chosen municipalities ensure that special projects that celebrate arts and culture take place. Municipalities with a population of more than 125 000 are awarded up to a maximum of $2 million; municipalities with a population of between 50 000 and 125 000 are awarded a maximum of $750,000; and municipalities with a population of under 50 000 are awarded a maximum $500,000.

An independent advisory committee, composed of the mayors of the 2006 Cultural Capitals of Canada and experts in the arts and culture fields, unanimously recommended the communities to be designated to Minister Oda.

Canadian municipalities and First Nations, Inuit, and Metis communities can apply to this program. The Department is currently evaluating applications for the 2008 and 2009 awards. The application deadline for the 2010 Cultural Capitals of Canada awards is October 15, 2007.

For a summary of the projects submitted by the winning communities, the maximum amount that can be given to each of them, and a list of all the municipalities that have applied for the award, please visit the Department of Canadian Heritage website at under "Media Room."

(This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.)

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Status of Women
    Chisholm Pothier
    Director of Communications
    Office of the Minister of the Environment
    Bob Klager
    Director of Communications
    Canadian Heritage
    Donald Boulanger
    A/Chief, Media Relations