Canada's Telecommunications Hall of Fame

Canada's Telecommunications Hall of Fame
Telecom Laureate Program

Telecom Laureate Program

October 17, 2006 09:00 ET

Canada's Telecommunications Hall of Fame: Six Laureates Inducted at Sold-out Gala, Montreal Announced for 2007

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Oct. 17, 2006) - Canada's Telecommunications Hall of Fame has much to be pleased about today, after a successful 2006 Telecom Laureate Awards Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremony held last night at the prestigious Carlu event facility in Toronto. A sold out crowd of 340 telecom industry leaders and supporters attended to see Edward S. "Ted" Rogers, his father Edward S. Rogers Sr., Leila Wightman, Donald Hings, Ernie Saunders, and Francis Dagger officially inducted into the Hall of Fame. The 2006 Special Recognition Award went to Digital World, the 1970's digital switching initiative of Bell-Northern Research and Northern Telecom. The Hall of Fame also announced Montreal as the host city for the 2007 Telecom Laureate Awards gala to be held at the Windsor Station, October 16, 2007.

"It was a great evening for the industry," said Laureate presenter Bernard Courtois, President of Information Technology Association of Canada (ITAC) and former Chief Legal Officer, Bell Canada. "The Hall of Fame enables telecom players to come together on non-competitive grounds and celebrate what our industry has done, not just for Canada, but for the world. It was also good to hear that Montreal was chosen for the 2007 Telecom Laureate Awards. Quebec is the birthplace of many Canadian telecom inventions - like the telephone handset and wireless voice radiocommunications, as well as the province of many prominent telecom enterprises, business leaders and advocates."

Ted Rogers, President and CEO of Rogers Communications was present to receive his Laureate award and that of his late father Edward S. Rogers Sr. Opening addresses were delivered by Frank McKenna, Deputy Chairman Toronto Dominion Bank and Former Premier of New Brunswick and The Honourable Bev Oda, M.P. Minister of Canadian Heritage and Status of Women. John Manley, Nortel Networks Board Director, Former Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Finance and Minister of Industry, was on hand to receive the special recognition award on behalf of engineering visionaries who developed Digital World. Some notable attendees included: Peter Barnes, President and CEO Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association (CWTA), Francoise Bertrand, CEO of the Federation des chambres de commerce du Quebec (FCCQ) and Past Chairman of CRTC, Carol Stephenson, Dean, Richard Ivey School of Business and Former President and CEO Lucent Technologies; David Colville, Chair of the Hall of Fame Selections Committee and past Vice-chairman of the CRTC and Michael Binder, Assistant Deputy Minister, Industry Canada.

"Canada's Telecommunications Hall of Fame sprung from a sincere desire to celebrate and honour some of the telecom industries greatest pioneers and leaders," says Lorne Abugov, Founder of the Hall of Fame. "The success of last night's 2nd Telecom Laureate Awards gala demonstrates to me that many members of Canada's industry support our mission to honour telecom career achievements, to educate Canadians about our industry's heritage and to inspire them to take an active role in its future. With Montreal now confirmed as the host city for our 2007 Telecom Laureate Awards and planning started for 2008, I know the Hall of Fame will make its own contribution to Canadian telecom."

Sponsors and supporters of last night's event were: Rogers Communications; Corpav Audio Visual Services; Canada's Independent Telephone Companies; Canadian Alliance of Publicly Owned Telecommunications Systems; Ontario Telecommunications Association; Association des compagnies de telephone du Quebec; Canadian Independent Telephone Association; Osler Hoskin & Harcourt LLP; Wightman Telecom; Nortel; Coyote's Run Estate Winery; CCNMatthews; Decima's Telemanagement and Network Letter; Societe quebecoise des professionnels en relations publiques; Via Rail Canada; MTS Allstream; Bell Canada; TELUS; Eastlink; Industry Canada; Motorola Canada; Johnston and Buchan; HSBC Bank Canada; Fasken Martineau LLP; Unisys Canada; ITAC; Canadian Association of Voice over IP Providers; Canadian Telecommunications Consultants Association; and Kennedy Communications

About Canada's Telecommunications Hall of Fame

Established May 30, 2005, Canada's Telecommunications Hall of Fame is a not for profit organization whose mission is to celebrate and honour the career achievements of those who have contributed significantly to the proud legacy of Canadian telecommunications. The Hall of Fame also strives to advance education and public awareness of Canada's illustrious telecom heritage. The Hall of Fame fulfills its mission through two principle programs: The Telecommunications Laureate Program and the Education and Outreach Program.

Take a virtual tour of the Canada's Telecommunications Hall of Fame at

Contact Information

  • Canada's Telecommunications Hall of Fame
    Joanne Kennedy
    Director, Communications