Department of National Defence

Department of National Defence

June 03, 2013 16:00 ET

Canadian Armed Forces Members Recognized in the House of Commons

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - June 3, 2013) - Today, 12 Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) members were recognized in the House of Commons for their valuable contributions to the CAF. These members spent this past weekend in Ottawa taking part in the 2013 CAF Recognition Program. Each member chosen for the Program is presented with a Chief of the Defence Staff Commendation for deeds or activities beyond the demand of normal duty. Participation in this program is a unique experience for those selected.

"The men and women of the Canadian Armed Forces deserve to be recognized for their consistently exceptional work," said the Honourable Peter MacKay, Minister of National Defence. "I am pleased to thank these members for their tireless efforts and loyal service to Canada."

CAF Recognition Day in the House of Commons provided members of Parliament the opportunity to express their gratitude to the CAF members for their service to Canada. It was the central event of the annual CAF Recognition Program, whereby 12 members from across the country were selected to visit Ottawa and take part in several events over the weekend. These included the Walk/Run in Red, a tour of the Canadian War Museum, and a special brunch hosted by Chief Petty Officer 1st Class Robert Cléroux, Canadian Forces Chief Warrant Officer. Lieutenant-General Stuart Beare, Commander of Canadian Joint Operations Command, attended the brunch on behalf of General Tom Lawson, Chief of the Defence Staff.

"These 12 deserving members, drawn from across the country, represent the best of our Canadian Armed Forces - and are a superb representation of the near 100 000 men and women who wear our uniform," said Lieutenant-General Beare. "The Canadian Armed Forces Recognition Program is a great way for us to thank them for both their work and the sacrifices they and their families have made in the service of Canada."

The participants in this year's program were:

Corporal Marc-André Amyotte
2 Field Ambulance
Petawawa, Ontario
Master Seaman Malerie Aylward
Her Majesty's Canadian Ship Summerside
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Master Warrant Officer Pierre Coté
Canadian Forces Leadership and Recruit School
St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Québec
Canadian Ranger Richard Drummond
4th Canadian Ranger Patrol Group
Grande Cache, Alberta
Corporal Daniel Foulds
Area Support Unit
Wainwright, Alberta
Major Marco Grenon
1 Wing Headquarters
Kingston, Ontario
Warrant Officer Christopher Keith
Combat Training Centre
Oromocto, New Brunswick
Captain Steve Nicoll
2860 Royal Canadian Army Cadet Corps
Fort Simpson, Northwest Territories
Sergeant Gregory Oliver
Integrated Personnel Support Centre
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Captain Dylan Pannell
Area Support Unit
Toronto, Ontario
Sergeant Robin Richardson
442 Transport and Rescue Squadron
Comox, British Columbia
Chief Petty Officer 2nd Class Paul Steen
Canadian Forces Naval Operations School
Halifax, Nova Scotia

Note to editors/news directors: For more information, member biographies or interview requests, please contact the Department of National Defence Media Liaison Office.

Contact Information