Canadian Franchise Association (CFA)

Canadian Franchise Association (CFA)

March 31, 2011 11:00 ET

Canadian Franchise Association Announces Finalists for the 2011 CFA Award of Excellence in Franchising

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - March 31, 2011) - The Canadian Franchise Association (CFA) is pleased to announce the 12 finalists for the 2011 CFA Award of Excellence in Franchising. Open exclusively to CFA Franchise System members who have been franchising for three years or more, the CFA Award of Excellence in Franchising recognizes excellence in franchise operations. Winning systems must demonstrate a dedication to superior franchisee relations, team work and communication.

"The CFA Award of Excellence in Franchising truly sets the benchmark for franchises throughout Canada," says Lorraine McLachlan, CFA President and Chief Executive Officer. "Because the award is based on franchisee responses, it is a significant honour for a franchise system to be so highly regarded."

The winning franchise systems are decided based on the results of a survey completed by member franchisors and franchisees about their experiences with their franchise system and colleagues. The CFA Award of Excellence in Franchising is sponsored by CFA and administered by InfoFeedback, a third-party research firm.

The CFA Award of Excellence in Franchising competition includes four categories to enable franchise systems to be rated against their peers. Entries are separated into Traditional Franchises (i.e. those with bricks and mortar locations) and Non-Traditional Franchises (i.e. mobile, home-based, etc.). Within these groups, entrants were grouped based on the length of time the franchise system has been operating (3 to 10 years and 11+ years). These categories better reflect the wide range of franchise opportunities in today's marketplace and create a more even playing field for the ranking of each entry. From amongst the winners in each category, the franchise system with the highest overall score is awarded the 2011 CFA Award of Excellence in Franchising Grand Prize.

The 2011 CFA Award of Excellence in Franchising finalists are (in alphabetical order):
Traditional Franchises (i.e. bricks and mortar locations)
New/Emerging (franchising 3 – 10 years)
Snap Fitness
UCMAS Mental Math
Mature/Established (franchising 11+years)
Expedia CruiseShipCenters
Pizza Nova
Wendy's Restaurants of Canada
Non-Traditional Franchises (i.e. mobile, home-based, etc.)
New/Emerging (franchising 3 – 10 years)
Computer Troubleshooters
The Grounds Guys
Two Men and a Truck Canada
Mature/Established (franchising 11+ years)
CertaPro Painters
Home Instead Senior Care
Mr. Rooter

First awarded in 1992, the prestigious CFA Award of Excellence in Franchising celebrates the mutually-supportive relationship between a franchise system and its franchisees.

"These awards celebrate the relationship between franchisees and franchisors," says Cheryl Kostopoulos, President, Pak Mail Centers Canada and Chair of the CFA Award of Excellence in Franchising Committee. "These awards are about education, the CFA's commitment to excellence, and highlighting the fact that, when the franchisor and the franchisees work together, there is no better way to do business. This is what CFA is all about. It reflects our core values: how to do franchising right."

The winners of the 2011 CFA Award of Excellence in Franchising will be announced at the CFA National Convention, April 3-5 in Niagara Falls, Ontario. The ceremony will also be the venue for the CFA Recognition Awards, which pay tribute to individuals and franchise systems for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the Canadian franchise community and for their extraordinary commitment and contributions to philanthropic endeavours.

For more information about the CFA Award of Excellence in Franchising, CFA Recognition Awards and the CFA National Convention, visit

About the Canadian Franchise Association (CFA)

With almost 500 corporate members nation-wide, representing many of Canada's best-known brands, the Canadian Franchise Association is the National Voice for Franchising in Canada and works with all levels of government to ensure the development of industry-made solutions. CFA promotes excellence in franchising and educates Canadians about franchising, specific franchise opportunities and proper due diligence through its many events, programs and publications. For more information, visit

Contact Information

  • For media accreditation, more information, and/or to arrange
    an interview with Lorraine McLachlan, CFA President & CEO,
    please contact: Sacke & Associates
    John Sacke
    416-493-5723 ext. 201 or Cel: 647-886-0750
    Canadian Franchise Association
    Kenny Chan
    Manager, Communications
    800-665-4232 ext. 232