Canadian Franchise Association

Canadian Franchise Association

April 03, 2014 11:48 ET

Canadian Franchise Association Announces Finalists for the 2014 CFA Awards of Excellence in Franchising

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - April 4, 2014) - The Canadian Franchise Association (CFA) is pleased to announce the 12 finalists for the 2014 CFA Awards of Excellence in Franchising. Open exclusively to CFA Franchise System members who have been franchising for three years or more, the CFA Awards of Excellence in Franchising recognize excellence in franchise operations. Winning systems must demonstrate a dedication to superior franchisee relations, team work and communication.

"The CFA Awards of Excellence in Franchising truly set the benchmark for franchises throughout Canada," says Lorraine McLachlan, CFA President and Chief Executive Officer. "Because the awards are based on franchisee responses, it is a significant honour for a franchise system to be so highly regarded."

The winning franchise systems are decided based on the results of a survey completed by member franchisors and franchisees about their experiences with their franchise system and colleagues. The CFA Awards of Excellence in Franchising are sponsored by CFA and administered by the Association Resource Centre (ARC), a third-party research firm.

The CFA Awards of Excellence in Franchising competition includes four categories to enable franchise systems to be rated against their peers. Entries are separated into Traditional Franchises (i.e. those with bricks and mortar locations) and Non-Traditional Franchises (i.e. mobile, home-based, etc.). Within these groups, entrants are grouped based on the length of time the franchise system has been operating (3 to 10 years and 11+ years). These categories reflect the wide range of franchise opportunities in today's marketplace and create a more even playing field for the ranking of each entry. From amongst the winners in each category, one franchise system will be awarded the 2014 CFA Award of Excellence in Franchising Grand Prize.

The 2014 CFA Awards of Excellence in Franchising finalists are (in alphabetical order):

Traditional Franchises (i.e. bricks and mortar locations)
New/Emerging (franchising 3 - 10 years)
Browns Socialhouse
Comfort Keepers
Symposium Café
Mature/Established (franchising 11+ years)
Edo Japan
FASTSIGNS International
Pizza Nova
White Spot Restaurants
Non-Traditional Franchises (i.e. mobile, home-based, etc.)
New/Emerging (franchising 3 - 10 years)
Aussie Pet Mobile
Little Kickers
Mature/Established (franchising 11+ years)
CertaPro Painters
Home Instead Senior Care
Par-T-Perfect Party Planners

First awarded in 1992, the prestigious CFA Awards of Excellence in Franchising celebrate the mutually- supportive relationship between a franchise system and its franchisees.

"The Awards of Excellence celebrate the relationship between franchisees and franchisors," McLachlan continues. "These awards are about education, CFA's commitment to excellence, and highlighting the fact that, when the franchisor and the franchisees work together, there is no better way to do business. This is what CFA is all about. It reflects our core values: how to do franchising right."

The winners of the 2014 CFA Awards of Excellence in Franchising will be announced on April 7 during a Gala Awards Presentation at the CFA National Convention (April 6-8 in Niagara Falls, Ontario). The awards ceremony will also be the venue for the CFA Recognition Awards, which pay tribute to individuals and franchise systems for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the Canadian franchise community and for their extraordinary commitment and contributions to philanthropic endeavours.

For more information about the CFA Awards of Excellence in Franchising, CFA Recognition Awards and CFA National Convention, visit

About the Canadian Franchise Association

The Canadian Franchise Association (CFA) is the recognized authority on franchising in Canada. With almost 600 corporate members nation-wide, representing many of Canada's best-known brands, CFA is the indispensable resource for the franchise community and advocates on behalf of franchisors and franchisees in Canada to enhance and protect the franchise business model. CFA promotes excellence in franchising and educates Canadians about franchising, specific franchise opportunities and proper due diligence through its many events, programs, publications, and websites ( and

For media accreditation, more information, and/or to arrange an interview with Lorraine McLachlan, CFA President & CEO, or any of the speakers or award winners, please see contact information below.

Contact Information

  • Canadian Franchise Association
    Lauren d'Entremont
    Assistant Manager, Communications
    800-665-4232 ext. 238

    Canadian Franchise Association
    Kenny Chan
    Director, Communications
    800-665-4232 ext. 232