Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

March 27, 2009 17:22 ET

Canadian Heritage: Appointment to the National Arts Centre Board of Trustees

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - March 27, 2009) - The Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, today announced the appointment of Adrian Burns as a member of the National Arts Centre Board of Trustees effective May 7, 2009.

"I am pleased that Ms. Burns has agreed to continue to serve on the Board of Trustees," said Minister Moore. "The National Arts Centre will continue to benefit from her wealth of experience in corporate and public governance and her dedication to the arts."

Ms. Burns holds a degree in Art History from the University of British Columbia and did graduate work in archaeology and art history at the British Academy in Rome, Italy. She is a businesswoman who has dedicated her career to Canadian broadcasting and the arts, education, and community involvement. She is a board member of several organizations, including the Western Independent Producers Fund, the National Campaign Cabinet for the Banff Centre, the Carthy Foundation, and the Canadian Athletic Foundation. Ms. Burns, who is completing a second consecutive term as vice-chair of the National Arts Centre Board of Trustees, is ineligible for reappointment in that capacity.

The National Arts Centre (NAC) is a federal cultural organization dedicated primarily to developing and showcasing the performing arts in the National Capital Region and across Canada. Home to the acclaimed National Arts Centre Orchestra, the NAC is a multidisciplinary performing arts centre that features classical music, dance, English- and French-language theatre, variety shows, and regional programming. The NAC takes part in co-productions with other organizations throughout the country, hosts festivals, and, through its new technologies and international tours, reaches out to audiences across Canada and around the world. The Corporation's website is at

This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Deirdra McCracken
    Director of Communications