Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

March 21, 2005 14:06 ET

Canadian Heritage: Students from Chandler Win the 2005 Racism. Stop It! National Video Competition



MARCH 21, 2005 - 14:06 ET

Canadian Heritage: Students from Chandler Win the 2005
Racism. Stop It! National Video Competition

MONTREAL, QUEBEC--(CCNMatthews - March 21, 2005) - The Honourable
Raymond Chan, Minister of State (Multiculturalism) honoured the 10
winning teams of the 9th annual Racism. Stop It! National Video
Competition, at a ceremony held today at the Canadian Museum of
Civilization. The Honourable Jean-C. Lapierre, Minister of Transport,
political lieutenant of Quebec and Minister responsible for Gaspe, is
proud that one of the winning teams is from Chandler.

A team from Chandler's Polyvalente Mgr. Sevigny, consisting of three
students - Annie Pier Audet, Vicky Pelletier and Charlotte
Levasseur-Paquin - was honoured for its video, "Pensez-y!"

"In their video, our young people have expressed their wish to live in a
society without racism, and it is important to listen to them", said
Minister Lapierre.

"These videos enable us to see the world through the eyes of Canada's
youth," said Minister of State Chan.

"These young Canadians understand the pain of exclusion. They know that
stereotyping can cause damage to both the individual and the community",
added Minister of State Chan. "They recognize that racism is a barrier
for many Canadians, and that respect and understanding are the only
means to overcome this challenge."

Every year the Racism. Stop it! National Video Competition challenges
youth aged 12 to 18 to take a stand against racism by creating videos
that deliver strong anti-racism messages. The competition is sponsored
by Panasonic Canada Inc. The videos are selected by a panel of judges
who make their choices based on originality, audio/visual quality and
the effectiveness of the Racism. Stop It! message.

The winning teams come from schools in Prince George, British Columbia;
Winnipeg, Manitoba; Yellowknife, NWT; Toronto and Markham, Ontario;
Chandler and Laval, Quebec, and; Halifax, Nova Scotia. The 2005 winning
videos can be viewed at:

The Racism. Stop it! National Video Competition was created to honour
the International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination,
March 21. This special day was declared by the United Nations in 1966 to
commemorate the anti-apartheid demonstrators who were killed in
Sharpeville, South Africa, 45 years ago. Canada was one of the first
countries to support this International Day.

The Racism. Stop It! National Video Competition is funded and managed by
the Multiculturalism Program of the Department of Canadian Heritage.

(This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.)


Racism: Stop It!
Winners of the 2005 National Video Competition

Nous sommes qui nous sommes
Ecole Cure-Antoine-Labelle, Laval, Quebec
Carl Lebel - 17
Eve Desrochers - 16
Yan Gagnon-Labelle - 16
Laura Leger - 16

Leave Out Violence
c/o Moving Images Group
Sacred Heart School of Halifax,
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Andrew Abraham - 18
Ryan Gannon - 17

What is Racism?
Cedars Christian School, Prince George, BC
Tim Wood - 14
Colton Beeton - 13
Josh Burnham - 13
Daniel Giesbrecht -13
Craig Pudlas -13

Sacred Heart School of Halifax,
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Melanie Hattie - 14
Desiree Adams - 16
Meaghean Richardson - 15
Kirsti Jangaard - 14
Hilary Lanyon - 15

Embrace it!
Balmoral Hall School, Winnipeg, Manitoba
Krupa Kotecha - 14
Teresa Kennedy - 14
Alex Campbell - 14

The Bigot Awards
Arthur A. Leach School, Winnipeg, Manitoba
Sasa Janjic - 14
Leanne Farough - 15
Selma Medanhodzic - 15
Erin Roach - 14
Minahal A. Asif - 14

Racism. Stop it!
Sir John Franklin High School, Yellowknife,
Julia McIntyre - 15
Nicole Krivan - 15

Stop Discrimination 'Cuz You Can
Markville Secondary School, Markham, Ontario
Roy Wong - 18
Ashleigh Clarke - 18
Wei-Jen Lee - 17

Picking Teams
Silver Springs Public School, Toronto, Ont.
Ashley Tsang - 13
Carrie Han - 13
Trevor Harvey - 13
Danusha Jebanesan - 13
Matthew Sun - 13

Polyvalente Mgr. Sevigny, Chandler, Quebec
Annie Pier Audet - 14
Vicky Pelletier - 14
Charlotte Levasseur-Paquin - 14


Contact Information

    Office of the Minister of State (Multiculturalism)
    Roy Bornmann
    (819) 997-9900
    Canadian Heritage -Quebec Region
    Veronick Raymond
    Director, Public Affairs and Communications
    (514) 283-7698