Canadian Securities Administrators

Canadian Securities Administrators

October 21, 2016 11:00 ET

Canadian Securities Regulators announce dates for British Columbia roundtables on CSA Consultation Paper 33-404

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - Oct. 21, 2016) - The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today announced the dates for the British Columbia Securities Commission's (BCSC) roundtables to further explore issues raised in CSA Consultation Paper 33-404 Proposals to Enhance the Obligations of Advisers, Dealers and Representatives Toward Their Clients, which proposes regulatory action to improve the client-registrant relationship. The dates for roundtables to be held by other CSA jurisdictions were announced in a previous press release on September 22, 2016.

The BCSC will be holding roundtable sessions on the following dates:

British Columbia Securities Commission November 28, 29 & 30, Vancouver

The BCSC will hold four focussed sessions and one open session. As previously announced, other CSA members have scheduled roundtables on the following dates:

Ontario Securities Commission December 6, 2016, Toronto;
Nova Scotia Securities Commission December 7, 2016, Halifax;
Autorité des marchés financiers December 8, 2016, Montréal;
Alberta Securities Commission December 9, 2016, Calgary.

Additional details regarding the roundtable sessions, and how stakeholders can participate, will be provided closer to the event dates by the respective regulators. CSA members not holding a roundtable session may conduct other forms of stakeholder consultations in their respective jurisdictions.

The consultation paper, which includes a list of 68 consultation questions, can be found on CSA members' websites.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

Contact Information

  • Alison Walker
    British Columbia Securities Commission

    Nicole Tuncay
    Alberta Securities Commission

    Jason (Jay) Booth
    Manitoba Securities Commission

    Jane Anderson
    Nova Scotia Securities Commission

    John O'Brien
    Office of the Superintendent of Securities
    Newfoundland and Labrador

    Jeff Mason
    Nunavut Securities Office

    Shannon McMillan
    Financial and Consumer Affairs
    Authority of Saskatchewan

    Kristen Rose
    Ontario Securities Commission

    Sylvain Theberge
    Autorite des marches financiers

    Andrew Nicholson
    Financial and Consumer Services
    Commission, New Brunswick

    Janice Callbeck
    Office of the Superintendent of Securities

    Rhonda Horte
    Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities

    Tom Hall
    Office of the Superintendent of Securities
    Northwest Territories