Canadian Securities Administrators

Canadian Securities Administrators

April 29, 2011 11:00 ET

Canadian Securities Regulators Propose Enhanced Policy Concerning Electronic Delivery of Documents

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwire - April 29, 2011) - The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today published for comment proposed amended National Policy (NP) 11-201 Electronic Delivery of Documents (formerly Delivery of Documents by Electronic Means). The proposed amendments aim to simplify the existing policy and recognize changes to provincial and federal corporate legislation.

The amended NP11-201 is intended to:

  • alert stakeholders to changes in corporate legislation that impact the delivery of documents;
  • remove guidance on issues that are outside the scope of securities legislation, including guidance on obtaining shareholder consent, that may be addressed in other legislation; and
  • eliminate reference to particular technologies that are or may become obsolete.

"It is important that policies governing consent requirements are clear and that policies governing the receipt of electronic documents are up-to-date with regards to technology," said Bill Rice, Chair of the CSA and Chair and CEO of the Alberta Securities Commission. "The amendments proposed today will help to ensure that our policies are practical and understandable to all stakeholders."

The CSA is seeking comment from investors and industry on the proposed amendments. Please note that in Québec, the proposed NP 11-201 will replace Notice 11-201 related to the Delivery of Documents by Electronic Means. To comment, please refer to the CSA Notice and Request for Comment document on the proposed NP 11-201 amendments, which is available on the websites of various CSA members ( The comment period is open until June 29, 2011.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, coordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

Contact Information

  • British Columbia Securities Commission
    Richard Gilhooley

    Alberta Securities Commission
    Mark Dickey

    Autorité des marchés financiers
    Sylvain Théberge

    Ontario Securities Commission
    Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington

    Manitoba Securities Commission
    Ainsley Cunningham

    New Brunswick Securities Commission
    Wendy Connors-Beckett

    Nova Scotia Securities Commission
    Natalie MacLellan

    Saskatchewan Financial Services
    Jennifer Anderson

    PEI Securities Office
    Office of the Attorney General
    Janice Callbeck

    Financial Services Regulation Div
    Newfoundland and Labrador
    Doug Connolly

    Yukon Securities Registry
    Graham Lang

    Nunavut Securities Office
    Louis Arki

    Northwest Territories Securities Office
    Donn MacDougall