Social Investment Organization

Social Investment Organization

May 05, 2011 13:26 ET

Canadian Socially Responsible Investment Shows Resilience in the Face of Financial Turbulence

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 5, 2011) - Socially responsible investment (SRI) in Canada has weathered the turmoil of the international financial crisis, and continues to represent about one-fifth of assets under management in Canada.

The most recent survey of assets, the Canadian Socially Responsible Investment Review 2010, shows that for June 2010, assets managed under SRI guidelines in Canada were $530.9 billion. The Social Investment Organization (SIO), which compiled the report, estimates this represents about 19 per cent of the total assets of the pension industry, the asset management industry and the mutual fund industry.

"SRI has shown resilience in the face of tough times brought about by the financial crisis of 2008," says Eugene Ellmen, Executive Director of the Social Investment Organization. "SRI offers a solid option for Canadians who want to invest in accordance with their personal values, or by integrating environmental, social and governance issues in the investment process."

The Canadian SRI Review is the only comprehensive survey of SRI in Canada. Now in its sixth edition, the document has been produced by the SIO every two years since 2000.

To view the copy of the full report please click below:

http://media3.marketwire.com/docs/CanadianSociallyResponsibleInvestmentReview2010_English_final.pdf

The Social Investment Organization is Canada's trade association for socially responsible investment. Its members include fund companies, asset management firms, institutional investors, pension funds, financial advisors and consultants. Its members serve more than one million Canadian depositors and investors.

The following people are representatives of sponsoring organizations of the report and are also available for comment:
Lucy Becker
VP, Public Relations & Public Affairs
AGF Investments Inc.
416.865.4284 / 1.877.263.3373 x 4284
lucy.becker@agf.com
Priscilla Boucher
VP, Corporate Social Responsibility
Assiniboine Credit Union
204.258.3482
pboucher@assiniboine.mb.ca
Colette Harvey
Conseillère en finance socialement responsible
Caisse d'économie solidaire Desjardins
418.254.1254 / 1.866.247.9677 x 126
colette.harvey@desjardins.com
Robert Walker
VP, Ethical Funds and ESG Services
NEI Investments
604.742.8320
rwalker@NEIinvestments.com
Marcel Mares
Product Manager
IA Clarington Investments
416.860.9880 x 2062
marcel.mares@iaclarington.com
Heather Lang
Director of Research, North America
Jantzi-Sustainalytics
416.861.0403 x 15
hlang@sustainalytics.com
Gary Hawton
CEO
Meritas SRI Funds
519.624.6767
ghawton@meritas.ca
Dermot Foley
Manager – ESG Analysis
Vancity Investment Management
604.975.3314
dermot_foley@vancity.com

Contact Information