Royal Canadian Golf Association

Royal Canadian Golf Association

June 03, 2005 11:45 ET


Duncan Meadows Golf and Country Club hosts 154 top college and university golfers Attention: Sports Editor, Travel/Tourism Editor DUNCAN, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(CCNMatthews - June 3, 2005) - Canadian University and College golfers will look to conclude the school year on a high note as Duncan Meadows Golf and Country Club prepares to host the Canadian University/College Golf Championship conducted by the Royal Canadian Golf Association from June 6-10 in Duncan, B.C.

In all, 154 College and University golfers from across Canada will compete during the five-day team championship which gets underway with a practice round on Monday, June 6. The championship is open to universities, colleges and other post-secondary institutions (professional and technical schools) in Canada. In total, the field will be comprised of 20 male teams and a record 11 female teams - including both defending champions.

In the men's division, Ryan Lamb of Bradford, Ont. is the lone returning member of the 2004 champion, Humber College team. Joining Lamb to defend Humber's title will be Lee French of London, Ont., Dave McDonald of Smith Falls, Ont., Sean O'Malley of Pembroke, Ont., and Michael Zizek of Mississauga, Ont. Zizek and French are sure to aid in Humber's defense as both finished one-two at the 2004 Canadian Colleges Athletic Association (CCAA) PING Golf Open Nationals last October. Humber claimed that championship for the second consecutive season.

On the women's side, the University of British Columbia (UBC) will count on four returning players to lead the charge in the defense of their title. Newcomer Heather Cronkwright of Calgary will join Erica Bennett of Dieppe, N.B., Jana Haggins of Calgary, Alison Kirk-Owen of West Vancouver, B.C. and Morgan Lederhouse of Calgary. University of Victoria, who took the title in 2003, will look to topple UBC as will the University of Western Ontario who were last year's runner-up.

Also competing in the championship will be the University of Toronto (UofT). Both UofT and UBC were last year's recipients of the Arnold Palmer Golf Fund. The fund was created by the RCGA Foundation to aid Canadian colleges and universities create and develop first-class competitive golf programs giving Canada's top young golfers the opportunity to pursue their studies at home while continuing to perfect their games.

"This will be our third Canadian University and College Championship and has the makings to be the best ever," said Brent McLaughlin, Director of Amateur Competitions for the Royal Canadian Golf Association. "Competition in our University and College golf programs is becoming stronger and stronger and I'm sure Duncan Meadows Golf will prove to be up for the challenge."

Championship Format
The team championship will involve five-player teams competing over 72 holes with the top four individual scores counting towards the team total. After 54 holes, the field will be cut to the low 10 male and low four (4) female teams. Any team within 15 shots of the lead will also make the cut.

The following teams will be competing at the 2005 Canadian University / College Championship:

Men's Division
Camosun College, Victoria, BC
Carleton University, Ottawa, ON
Holland College, Charlottetown, PEI
Humber College, Etobicoke, ON
Malaspina University-College, Nanaimo, BC
McMaster University, Hamilton, ON
Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, BC
University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC
Université de Montreal, Montreal, QC
Universite Laval, Quebec, QC
University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB
University of Calgary, Calgary, AB
University of Lethbridge, Lethbridge, AB
University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB
University of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON
University of Toronto, Toronto, ON
Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, Trois-Rivieres, QC
University of Victoria, Victoria, BC
University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON

Women's Division
Camosun College, Victoria, BC
Humber College, Etobicoke, ON
Mount Royal College, Calgary, AB
Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, BC
University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC
Université Laval, Quebec, QC
University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB
University of Calgary, Calgary, AB
University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB
University of Victoria, Victoria, BC
University of Western Ontario, London, ON

A full listing of players, starting times and post-round results can be found on the RCGA website at

Eligibility requirements for the Canadian University / College Championship have been established to mirror those of the World University Golf Championship. All competitors must satisfy the following conditions:
1. Be a Canadian citizen. Citizenship will have to be authorized by a valid Canadian passport.
2. Be at least 17 and less than 28 years old as of January 1, 2005.
3. Be an amateur athlete as defined by the International Olympic Committee and appropriate international sports federation. Amateur status is confirmed by the RCGA.
Be a student who is officially registered for and pursuing a full-time course of study at a post-secondary institution or be a former student who has graduated from a post-secondary institution after January 1, 2005. Full-time status must be confirmed by a document signed by the registrar of the institution. Graduation must be confirmed by a document signed by the registrar of the institution. Post-secondary institutions include community colleges, professional schools, technical schools and universities in Canada.

The Royal Canadian Golf Association is the governing body of golf in Canada, representing close to 400,000 members nationwide. In addition to providing core services such as the Rules of Golf, handicapping, support of turfgrass and environmental research, and BMO Financial Group Future Links, Canada's national junior golf program and supporting the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame and Museum, the RCGA also conducts Canada's most prestigious golf championships. The Bell Canadian Open and BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Open attract the best professional golfers in the world, while six regional junior championships, 10 national amateur championships and the BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Tour showcase the best of Canadian golf. For more information please visit
- 30 -


Michael Grobe
RCGA, Senior Communications Coordinator
Phone: 905-849-9700, ext. 230
Cell: 905-467-2944

Contact Information

  • Michael Grobe, Senior Communications Coordinator, Royal Canadian Golf Association
    Primary Phone: 905-849-9700 ext. 230
    Secondary Phone: 905-467-2944
    Toll-Free: 800-263-0009