Canadian Health Coalition

Canadian Health Coalition

March 31, 2014 06:00 ET

Canadians Want Federal Leadership in Health Care: National Day of Action Starts Campaign for New Health Accord

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - March 31, 2014) - The Canadian Health Coalition (CHC) will launch a national day of action March 31st to kick off a campaign for a new Health Accord. Events are organized in over 40 communities across Canada, including a luncheon in Ottawa with Dr. Jeff Turnbull - Past-President of the Canadian Medical Association, and a concert in Toronto with several Canadian artists - including Shirley Douglas.

"We are sounding the alarm to alert Canadians to the fact that the Harper government is not providing federal leadership in health care. This will lead to a fragmentation of services across the country, and access to care will depend on where you live and your ability to pay," says Michael McBane, Executive Director of the CHC.

The Canadian Health Coalition will follow up the day of action with a Medicare Tour, visiting eight cities across the country and meeting with citizens at community events, public forums, and workshops. The tour features Alex Himelfarb, former Clerk of the Privy Council to three prime ministers, and Wendell Potter, former VP of Communications for Cigna, one of the largest American health insurers.

For more information see: https://www.facebook.com/events/258678364292244/270445723115508/

A list of national events occurring on March 31st can be found at: http://healthcoalition.ca/map/

Facebook: National Day of Action for a New Health Accord

Twitter: #stand4medicare

List of National Events
  1. St. John's - Contact: Mary Clarke, maryc_hcnl@hotmail.com
  2. Charlottetown - Contact: Mary Boyd, maryboyd@live.ca, 902-892-9074
  3. Summerside - Contact: Mary Boyd, maryboyd@live.ca, 902-892-9074
  4. Souris - Contact: Mary Boyd, maryboyd@live.ca, 902-892-9074
  5. Halifax - Contact: James Hutt, james@nshealthcoalition.ca, 902-406-9422
  6. Bridgewater - Contact: Mary Wright, wrightmary123@gmail.com, 902-527-0766
  7. Dieppe - Contact: Daniel Legere, dlegere@cupe.ca
  8. Moncton - Contact: Serge Landry, slandry@clc-ctc.ca, 506-851-7088
  9. Saint John - Contact: Jean-Claude Basque, basquejc@nb.sympatico.ca, 506-875-4232
  10. Fredericton - Contact: Daniel Legere, dlegere@cupe.ca
  11. Ottawa - Contact: Erin Sirett, medicarelobby@gmail.com, 613-688-4973 ext. 2
  12. Ottawa - Contact: Marlene Rivier, marlene_rivier@rogers.com, 613-222-8392
  13. Kingston - Contact: Ross Sutherland, elbe@web.net, 613-532-7846
  14. Oshawa - Contact: Charlie Courneyea, wccourneyea@gmail.com, 416-557-5935
  15. Scarborough - Contact: Kingsley Kwok, mercury28@gmail.com, 416-835-3377
  16. St. Catharines - Contact: Sue Hotte, suehotte@yahoo.ca, 905-932-1646
  17. Toronto - Holler 4 Health Care - Contact: David Craig, davidscraig@rogers.com, 416-271-3030
  18. Toronto - Honk for Health Care - Contact: Kim Johnston, ohc@sympatico.ca, 416-441-2502
  19. Brampton - Contact: Pat McGrail, activist@taxlite.org, 647-724-8530
  20. North Bay - Contact: Henri Giroux, 705-471-7746
  21. Orillia - Contact: Kim Johnston, ohc@sympatico.ca, 416-441-2502
  22. Sarnia - Contact: Arlene Patterson, arlene.patterson13@gmail.com, 519-542-1895
  23. Sault Ste. Marie - Contact: Kim Johnston, ohc@sympatico.ca, 416-441-2502
  24. Thunder Bay - Contact: Jules Tupker, jtupker@tbaytel.net, 807-577-5946
  25. Winnipeg - Contact: Laurissa Smerchanski-Sims, smerchanskisims@gmail.com
  26. Winnipeg - Contact: Ric McAlpine, cupe1973@gmail.com
  27. Brandon - Contact: Vanessa Hamilton, hamiltonv@live.ca, 204-724-2163
  28. Yorkton - Tria Donaldson, Tdonaldson@cupe.ca
  29. Prince Albert - Tria Donaldson, Tdonaldson@cupe.ca
  30. Regina - Contact: Tom Graham, tomgraham@sasktel.net
  31. Saskatoon - Contact: Stan Rice, jsrice@sasktel.net, 306-280-5315
  32. Edmonton - Contact: Sandra Azocar, 780-423-4581
  33. Kamloops - Contact: Rick Turner 250-819-5694
  34. Kelowna - Contact: Ken Robinson, krobinson@heu.org, 604-838-3844
  35. Nelson - Contact: Lorne Burkart, lorneburkart@bcnu.org, 250-354-5311
  36. Princeton - Contact: Ed Staples, edwardstaples8@gmail.com, 250-295-0822
  37. Surrey - Contact: Kelly Aujla, kellya@shaw.ca, 604-626-8806
  38. Richmond - Contact: David Huespe, daivdhuespe@hotmail.com, 604-619-5124
  39. Nanaimo - Contact: Paul Manly, paulmanly@shaw.ca, 250-729-1254
  40. Campbell River/Comox Valley - Contact: Rich Hagensen, surfdust@telus.net, 250-286-3019
  41. Vancouver - Contact: Bev Trynchy, btrynchy@heu.org, 604-837-1433
  42. Yellowknife - Contact: Ben McDonald, info@alternativesnorth.ca, 867-873-8123

Contact Information