SOURCE: Institutional Investor

Institutional Investor

April 02, 2014 07:00 ET

Carnegie Corp. Foundation's D. Ellen Shuman Announced as Institutional Investor's Lifetime Achievement Award Winner and Fairholme Capital Management's Bruce R. Berkowitz Announced as Institutional Investor's Money Manager of the Year

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwired - Apr 2, 2014) - Institutional Investor magazine announces the honorees and award winners for the 5th Annual U.S. Investment Management Awards. Jeremy Grantham is the recipient of the Money Management Lifetime Achievement Award and D. Ellen Shuman takes home the Investor Lifetime Achievement Award. Other honorees include the late Anne Pfeiffer of JP Morgan Asset Management and Bruce R. Berkowitz of Fairholme Capital Management. Institutional Investor also announces awards for excellence in eight investor categories for endowments, foundations, corporations and public pension plans and more than 37 investment categories.

The awards program recognizes U.S. institutional investors whose innovative strategies and fiduciary savvy resulted in impressive returns in 2013, as well as U.S. money managers who stood out in the eyes of the investor community for their exceptional performance, risk management and service.

All of this year's winners will be honored and awarded at a dinner and ceremony on Thursday, May 15, 2014, at the Mandarin Oriental in New York City.

Please visit the awards web site for additional information: or click here for a full list of honorees and award winners.

2014 Honorees and Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

Money Management Lifetime Achievement Award
Jeremy Grantham, Co-Founder, GMO

Investor Lifetime Achievement Award
D. Ellen Shuman, Former CIO, Carnegie Corp. Foundation

Outstanding Contribution Award
The late Anne Pfeiffer, Managing Director,
JPMorgan Asset Management

Money Manager of the Year
Bruce R. Berkowitz, Founder and Chief Investment Officer,
Fairholme Capital Management

2014 Investor Award Winners

Small Public Pension Manager of the Year
Paul Doane,
Executive Director, CIO,
St. Paul Teachers' Retirement Fund Association

Large Public Pension Manager of the Year
William R. Atwood,
Executive Director,
Illinois State Board of Investment

Small Corporate Pension Manager of the Year
Carol McFate,

Large Corporate Pension Manager of the Year 
Robin Diamonte,
United Technologies Corp.

Small Endowment Manager of the Year
Adele Gorrilla,
Denison University

Large Endowment Manager of the Year
William McLean,
Northwestern University

Small Foundation Manager of the Year
Kristen O'Connor,
CFO and Treasurer,
The Ahmanson Foundation

Large Foundation Manager of the Year
John Hull,
Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

2014 Winning Companies by Category

Equity Strategies

Large Cap Core:
J.P. Morgan Asset Management

Large Cap Growth:
T. Rowe Price Group

Large Cap Value:
T. Rowe Price Group

Mid Cap Core:
ClearBridge Investments

Mid Cap Growth:
Artisan Partners

Mid Cap Value:
MFS Investments

Small Cap Core:
PanAgora Asset Management

Small Cap Growth:
TimesSquare Capital Management

Small Cap Value:

Fixed Income Strategies

Cash Management & Short-Term Fixed Income:
Federated Investors

Fixed Income Core:
Western Asset Management

Fixed Income Corporate:
Loomis, Sayles & Co.

Fixed Income Core Plus:
Western Asset Management

Fixed Income High Yield:
MacKay Shields

Fixed Income Government:
Putnam Investments

Fixed Income Investment Grade:
Garcia Hamilton & Associates

Fixed Income Mortgage-Backed Securities:
DoubleLine Capital

Fixed Income Municipal:
Northern Trust

Liability Driven Investments:
Legal and General Investment Management America

Fixed Income Indexer:
Northern Trust

International Strategies

Global Equity:
AQR Capital Management

Non-U.S. Equity Growth (excluding emerging markets):
Morgan Stanley Investment Management

Non-U.S. Equity Value (excluding emerging markets):
Acadian Asset Management

Emerging Markets Equity:
Thornburg Investment Management

Global Fixed Income: PIMCO

Non-U.S. Fixed Income (including emerging markets):
Franklin Resources

Emerging Markets Debt:
Goldman Sachs Asset Management

Alternatives and Other Strategies

Cohen & Steers

Global Infrastructure Partners

Private Equity:
Blackstone Group

Venture Capital:
Sequoia Capital

Commodities and Energy:
Gresham Investment Management

Hedge Fund:
Bridgewater Associates

Funds of Hedge Funds:
Blackstone Group


Mutual Fund Company:

For information on attending or sponsoring the 2014 awards dinner, please contact:

Mark Lee,, 212-224-3140,
Doug Campbell,, 212-224-3299,
Mike Feinberg,, 212-224-3320, 
Joy DeSanto,, 212-224-3348 or
Robyn Armao,, 212-224-3108.

Please visit the awards web site for additional information:
Tweet us at #iiawards

About Institutional Investor magazine
Now in its fifth decade, Institutional Investor has consistently distinguished itself among the world's foremost financial publications with groundbreaking journalism and incisive writing that provides "must read" intelligence for a global audience. This award-winning magazine is essential reading for the world's leading financiers, corporate executives and government officials, who rely on the breadth and depth of coverage that have made Institutional Investor such a premier publication.

About the U.S. Investment Management Awards
Institutional Investor magazine's U.S. Investment Management Awards recognizes U.S. institutional investors for their innovative strategies, fiduciary savvy and impressive short and long-term returns, as well as U.S. money managers in more than 35 asset classes and strategies who stood out in the eyes of the investor community for their exceptional performance, risk management and service. Investor award winners were chosen by the editorial staff of Institutional Investor magazine based on their market intelligence, performance data and additional information received from the industry following a public call for nominations. Manager winners were selected by the editors of the magazine based on the results of a survey of U.S. institutional investors.