SOURCE: Hi Toned Pictures

October 20, 2008 23:49 ET

CIA Psychic Spy Program Provides Background for New Thriller Novel, "Mind Games"

LOS ANGELES, CA--(Marketwire - October 20, 2008) - Author John Truman Wolfe's new award-winning thriller, "Mind Games" shines a light on one of the most secretive CIA programs in the Agency's history.

The new fiction novel, featuring Wolfe's Berkeley-based private detective, Tom McKenna, is set against the historical background of the out-of-body psychic spy program created at the Stanford Research Institute in the early seventies. Code-named Star Gate -- long before the feature film or television series of the same name -- the information on the clandestine program was declassified by the Clinton Administration in 1995.

The book has garnered the Independent Newspapers' Golden Plume award for fiction and is the subject of a chilling trailer directed by Angelo Pagan. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uIDfoMPmbRc

McKenna, his office overlooking the grandeur of San Francisco Bay, is approached by Gloria Stryker, a successful, but disturbed bio-tech CEO, who knows she is being stalked, but cannot see the stalker. Ms. Stryker is the Founder of Stryker BioGen, a biotechnology firm headquartered in the Silicon Valley with a patent pending on a new cutting-edge gene that is the subject of covetous interest, attention and jealousy from her well-funded and morally challenged competitors.

McKenna's investigation reveals that the stalking of Stryker is of a psychic -- paranormal -- nature, which intensifies into what become terrifying incidents for the woman.

Despite a contentious and sometimes volatile relationship with his client, McKenna must find the stalker before Gloria Stryker loses her sanity, her business and one of the most profound genetic breakthroughs of the century.

Tom McKenna is a private investigator with a biting wit and a romantic flair in the tradition of Robert B. Parker's Spencer, Robert Crais' Elvis Cole or Harlen Coben's Myron Bolitar. But McKenna's cases often find him crossing paths with the dark side of government intelligence.

John Truman Wolfe is the author of the award-winning Tom McKenna detective series. He lives in Los Angeles with his family and their 130 pound Akita, Sensi. www.mindgamesthenovel.com

Contact Information