SOURCE: The Classical Archives

August 16, 2005 09:00 ET

Classical Archives Selected as Music Resource by the California Learning Resource Network

Classical Music Site Offers Dramatic Back-to-School Reduction on School/Library Site Licenses

PALO ALTO, CA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- August 16, 2005 -- Celebrating its selection as an online source for educators by the California Learning Resource Network (, The Classical Music Archives is offering a 33% reduction to all schools and libraries licensing its service by September 30, 2005.

The Classical Music Archives is a subscription-based online music center launched in 1994 which has grown to offer the largest collection of classical music files on the Internet. The website features a superior browsing environment with in-depth corollary content such as biographies, timelines, and a Learning Center for musicians and conductors.

Ordinarily, schools and libraries pay $750 for a one-year subscription to the Classical Music Archives but can now obtain access for just $500 when ordering by September 30, 2005. According to CEO and founder Pierre R. Schwob, "We offer a remarkable online resource housing nearly 35,000 full length classical music files from close to 2,000 composers. Students and teachers enjoy intelligent access to classical music works that are otherwise hidden or absent on other Internet music sites (see A very large collection of MIDI files enables listeners to download large works quickly and, with the appropriate software, to actually see and follow the scores."

The Classical Music Archives' Learning Center is coordinated by David Barg, an internationally recognized conductor who works with young musicians and conductors throughout America and around the world.

About California Learning Resource Network: CLRN provides educators with a "one-stop" resource for critical information needed for the selection of supplemental electronic learning resources aligned to some of the California State Board of Education academic content standards and linked to model lesson plans utilizing technology. See for more information.

About The Classical Archives: The Classical Archives was created in 1994 by CEO Pierre R. Schwob to offer classical music in well organized and clearly cataloged MIDI files. The Internet was at the beginning of its exponential growth and the site quickly gathered a faithful and enthusiastic following. By the end of the last century, the site had developed into the largest classical music site on the web. Live recordings, biographies and historical context were then added in 2000. Since then the site has continued to expand its offering and now receives close to 3,000,000 visitors a month. The Company is headquartered in Palo Alto, CA (with several offices around the world) and over 34,000 music files from more than 1,800 composers are available at

Contact Information

  • Contact Information
    408 399 9771
    Bob Citelli
    @Sales & Marketing
    Email Contact