Canadian Medical Association

Canadian Medical Association

August 09, 2006 16:33 ET

CMA Recognizes Young Physician Leaders

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Aug. 9, 2006) - The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) is pleased to announce the recipients for its 3rd annual Award for Young Leaders. The award celebrates the efforts of young physician leaders of tomorrow for their efforts today.

The CMA will present the 2006 Award for Young Leaders to one student, one resident and one early career physician (5 years post-residency) member at its Annual General Council Meeting held at the Delta Prince Edward Hotel in Charlottetown, PEI, on Sunday, August 20th.

The Young Leaders Award recipients have demonstrated exemplary dedication, commitment and leadership in one of the following domains: political, clinical, education, research and/or community service.

The winners have been selected based on three key criteria:
- having exemplified creativity, initiative and are committed to
"making a difference";
- being active and effective at the local, provincial/territorial
and/or national level; and
- acting as a positive and effective role model for their peers and

"I continue to be thrilled and impressed by the quality of our young leaders," said Dr. Ruth Collins-Nakai, President of the CMA. "Given their intelligence, commitment, innovation and determination, I believe that the profession will be in good hands in the future."

- The student recipient of the 2006 Award for Young Leaders' is Ryan Sommers, an outstanding community leader and community health researcher. He is currently completing a master's degree in community health and epidemiology while attending Dalhousie University medical school, Ryan has long been interested in primary care and how it can be improved. While an undergraduate he was recognized by the Canadian Evaluation Society for his paper and presentation to the society on "How Information Technology can improve clinical practice guidelines, or Why clinical practice guidelines don't work".

- The resident recipient of the 2006 Award for Young Leaders' is Dr. Karin Dymond Kerfoot, an exemplary resident and role model in clinical, educational and political issues for her peers and junior residents at the University of Calgary medical school. Dr. Kerfoot was praised for participating at more departmental and faculty levels than any resident in recent history. She was recently awarded a residency scholarship for exceptional leadership by the Foothills Hospital Medical Staff. She recently accepted a fellowship in geriatric psychiatry at Yale University for 2006-07.

- The early career physician recipient of the 2006 Award for Young Leaders' is Dr. Michael Pollanen, a physician committed to making a difference in forensic pathology in Canada and internationally. After earning a doctorate in neuropathology at the University of Toronto he studied medicine and graduated in 1999. He has taken postgraduate training in the United Kingdom and United States and holds specialty certification in anatomical pathology and forensic pathology. His awards include a Medical Research Council Doctoral Studentship and Smithsonian Institution Research Fellow Scholarship.

(Visit for biographical notes on all 2006 Young Leaders award recipients.)

Contact Information

  • Canadian Medical Association
    Carole Lavigne
    Manager, Media Relations
    1 (800) 663-7336 or (613) 731-8610, ext. 1266