SOURCE: The Hickok Belt Award

The Hickok Belt Award

February 26, 2013 07:15 ET

Colin Kaepernick Selected as the Hickok Belt™ Award Winner for January 2013

ROCHESTER, NY--(Marketwire - Feb 26, 2013) - Colin Kaepernick of the San Francisco 49ers has been selected as the Hickok Belt Award winner for the month of January 2013. Voting was conducted by a select panel of members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA). Kaepernick was selected based on the strength of his performance in the NFL playoffs during which he led the 49ers to an NFC Championship, with victories over the Green Bay Packers and Atlanta Falcons. His performance in those two games included 496 yards passing and 3 TDs. In addition, Kaepernick put on an amazing display on the ground, rushing for 181 yards and 2 TDs in the victory over Green Bay on January 12.

Other finalists for the month of January, in order of how the NSSA voters ranked them, were: Joe Flacco (football), Novak Djokovic (tennis), Tiger Woods (golf), LeBron James (basketball), Carmelo Anthony (basketball), Victoria Azarenka (tennis), Marcel Hirscher (skiing), Tina Maze (skiing) and Parker Boh (bowling).

Kaepernick's selection as the Hickok Belt Award winner for January 2013 not only recognizes him as "the best of the best" in professional sports for the month, it also makes him the first candidate eligible to receive the 2013 overall award. He will be joined by other finalists throughout the year based on NSSA voting.

Meanwhile, details for the award ceremony to announce the overall 2012 Hickok Belt Award winner -- the first winner in over 36 years -- are being planned and event details will be announced in the coming weeks. Finalists for the 2012 award include: Eli Manning, Jeremy Lin, Lindsey Vonn, Bubba Watson, Josh Hamilton, LeBron James, Usain Bolt, Pablo Sandoval, Brad Keselowski, Adrian Peterson and two-time monthly award winner Serena Williams.

To learn more about the Hickok Belt Award, its rich history and all the 2012 finalists, please visit

Contact Information

  • News Media:
    For more information, contact
    Larry Kleehammer
    Email Contact