Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

December 18, 2006 16:00 ET

Comox Valley Designated a 2007 Cultural Capital of Canada

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Dec. 18, 2006) - On behalf of the Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Status of Woman, Chuck Strahl, Member of Parliament (Chilliwack-Fraser Canyon) today announced that Comox Valley, British Columbia, has been designated a 2007 Cultural Capital of Canada, in the 50,000 to 125,000 population category. Edmonton, Alberta; Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan; Baie-Saint-Paul, Quebec; and the Huron-Wendat Nation of Wendake, Quebec; have also been named Cultural Capitals for 2007.

"Canada's New Government is dedicated to enriching the lives of Canadians by supporting projects that increase their access to the arts and culture," said Minister Oda. "The Cultural Capitals of Canada Program celebrates the unique character of Canadian municipalities and recognizes the important role they play in highlighting the richness and diversity of our culture."

"I'm proud that this community has been recognized for its commitment to nurturing arts and culture as a part of life here in Comox Valley," said Mr. Strahl.

The Land of Plenty project brings together five communities in the Comox Valley-whose name comes from the First Nations word k'omoks, which means "a celebration of creative abundance." From the creation of an original musical theatre production about local legends to the preservation of Aboriginal cultural traditions and the presentation of public art installations and performances, Land of Plenty celebrates the cultural history and vitality of all five communities and involves residents and visitors in exploring and celebrating the links between these communities' landscape, heritage industries, and creative sector.

The Cultural Capitals of Canada awards recognize the achievements of communities that demonstrate an ongoing commitment to the arts and culture. Funding is awarded for special projects that celebrate arts and culture and create a cultural legacy for the community. Comox Valley could receive a contribution of up to $750,000.

An independent advisory committee, composed of the mayors of the 2006 Cultural Capitals of Canada and experts in the arts and culture fields, unanimously recommended the communities to be designated to Minister Oda.

Canadian municipalities and First Nations, Inuit, and Metis communities can apply to this program. The Department is currently evaluating applications for the 2008 and 2009 awards. The application deadline for the 2010 Cultural Capitals of Canada awards is October 15, 2007.

A list of all applicant communities, a summary of the projects of the designated communities, and the maximum possible funding they can receive can be found on the Department of Canadian Heritage website at under Media Room.

(This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.)

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Status of Women
    Chisholm Pothier
    Director of Communications
    Canadian Heritage
    Donald Boulanger
    A/Chief, Media Relations
    Office of the Member of Parliament
    for Chilliwack-Fraser Canyon
    Colin Metcalfe, Director of Regional Affairs