SOURCE: Con-way Truckload

Con-way Truckload

January 21, 2010 16:49 ET

Con-way Truckload Announces Drivers of the Year

Company Celebrates Outstanding Drivers for Safety, Service and Professionalism

JOPLIN, MO--(Marketwire - January 21, 2010) - Con-way Truckload, a full truckload carrier and subsidiary of Con-way Inc. (NYSE: CNW), today announced its 2009 Drivers of the Year -- the company's highest recognition. The drivers selected were Al and Jennifer Sidwell of Parkersburg, W.Va.; Michael and Jennifer Burns of Leechburg, Pa.; Ken Taylor of Hallettsville, Texas; and Jon Smith of Joplin. The winners comprise both solo and team drivers who had been named Drivers of the Month during the previous year. Award criteria included exemplary performance, dedication to safety and professional service representing the company. Con-way Truckload recognized the drivers in a recent ceremony at its Joplin headquarters.

"These drivers represent the best of the best in our industry," said Herb Schmidt, president, Con-way Truckload. "Their commitment to safe driving practices, exemplary customer service and the highest professional standards make them a great example for all of us, and it's a pleasure to award them our company's top honor."

Together, Con-way Truckload's Drivers of the Year drove a total of more than 889,200 accident-free miles during 2009. The distance they covered is the equivalent of traveling around the circumference of the Earth 36 times or from the Earth to the moon nearly four times.

At the awards ceremony, the winners received commemorative plaques, wrist watches, custom jackets and cash prizes. They were also honored with a proclamation from the Missouri House of Representatives and inducted into the Con-way Truckload Hall of Fame.

The 2009 Con-way Truckload Driver of the Year honorees:

--  Company Driver of the Year: Ken Taylor of Hallettsville, Texas, has been
    a professional driver for 27 years and joined Con-way Truckload in 2003. He
    and his wife have six children and two grandchildren. In his spare time,
    Taylor enjoys riding and racing motorcycles.
--  Company Team of the Year: Al and Jennifer Sidwell of Parkersburg, W.Va.,
    became Con-way Truckload drivers in 2007 after more than 20 combined years
    of professional truck driving. Married, they have four children. This marks
    their second consecutive win as Company Team of the Year.
--  Owner-Operator of the Year: Jon Smith of Joplin, Mo., is Owner-Operator
    of the Year for the third year in a row. He began driving professionally
    and joined Con-way Truckload in 1984, and has since driven more than three
    million miles. Smith is married and has two daughters.
--  Owner-Operator Team of the Year: Michael and Jennifer Burns of
    Leechburg, Pa., have been driving for more than five years and became Con-
    way Truckload drivers in 2007. Married, they have a daughter. When they're
    not driving, they enjoy spending time with friends and family.

Follow Con-way Truckload on Twitter:

Con-way images are available at

About Con-way Truckload

Joplin, Mo.-based Con-way Truckload is an operating company of Con-way Inc. (NYSE: CNW) and a leading provider of expedited, time-definite full-truckload transportation services across North America. Formerly Contract Freighters, Inc. (CFI), Con-way Truckload today employs over 3,000 drivers with a fleet of more than 2,700 tractors and 8,600 trailers operating throughout the United States as well as internationally in Mexico and Canada. The company provides full-truckload transportation serving the transcontinental shipping needs of commercial and industrial businesses as well as sister company Con-way Freight. For more about Con-way Truckload, visit us on the Web at or call (800) 641-4747.

Con-way Inc. (NYSE: CNW) is a $4.3 billion diversified freight transportation and global logistics company.

Contact Information