OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

March 10, 2014 13:24 ET

Conor James Arbeau From Centre Dufferin DHS, Wins Provincial Education Award

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - March 10, 2014) -

Editors Note: There is a photo associated with this Press Release

Conor James Arbeau, a student at Centre Dufferin DHS in Shelburne, is the recipient of the highest honour that the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF/FEESO) can bestow upon a student-the Student Achievement Award (in honour of Marion Drysdale).

Arbeau won the intermediate grades 9-10 applied/essential category in the prose or poetry division of this prestigious award for his entry entitled, Light Bulb. He was supported by his teacher Lela McKee.

"Conor's writing deftly darted through time and made great use of dramatic dialogue," said OSSTF/FEESO President Paul Elliott.

This is the 26th consecutive year in which the Federation has presented the Student Achievement Awards (formerly known as the Marion Drysdale Awards). This year each winning student was awarded with a cash prize of $1,000 and a framed certificate.

The awards were presented for poem or essay submissions in five prose/poetry categories:

  • intermediate grades 9-10 academic;
  • intermediate grades 9-10 applied/essential;
  • senior grades 11-12 university;
  • senior, grades 11-12 college/workplace;
  • French.

And for creative entries there are three categories:

  • intermediate visual art;
  • senior visual art; and
  • French or English video/audio/animation.

Entries are judged at four successive levels: school, district, regional and provincial. The competition is open to all Ontario public high school students. This year's theme was "You cannot lock up an idea".

The contest is named after Marion Drysdale who died of cancer in 1983 just after retiring from the position of secretary to the general secretary of OSSTF/FEESO. Drysdale was noted for her keen interest in reading and history.

A booklet containing all the winning student submissions can be obtained on request from the OSSTF/FEESO provincial office. A professionally produced DVD about the students and their work is also available.

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, early childhood educators, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, university support staff, and many others in education.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://www.marketwire.com/library/20140310-conor-arbeau800.jpg

Contact Information

  • Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
    Randy Banderob
    Executive Assistant