SOURCE: Construction Writers Association

Construction Writers Association

June 24, 2013 09:05 ET

Construction Writers Association Calls for Nominations for 2013 Hall of Fame Awards

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwired - Jun 24, 2013) - The Construction Writers Association (CWA) is calling for nominations for its 2013 Hall of Fame Award, which recognizes outstanding professionals, journalists and communications professionals in the construction industry for lifetime achievement. CWA is celebrating its 55th anniversary as an association this year.

For more information and an application form, visit The deadline for nominations is Aug. 1, 2013. Submit nominations to Awards Chair Patti Flesher by sending the requested information to the Please note the award title and the name of the nominee in the subject line of the email.

The 2013 Hall of Fame inductees will be recognized at CWA's Annual Grand Awards Gala on Oct. 22 at the Grand Awards Reception and Dinner during CWA's annual conference, CONNECTED, Oct. 21-22 at the Crowne Plaza Avenue Chicago Downtown, 160 E. Huron, just steps from Chicago's "Magnificent Mile."

The Hall of Fame Award was first inaugurated in 2008 as part of a yearlong celebration of CWA's 50th anniversary. CWA inducted the organization's founding fathers into its inaugural class -- Robert Boger, Duane Cronk, Arthur A. Faber, James T. Jenkins, Jr., E. E. "Gene" Halmos, Henry T. Perez, William H. Quirk, John Rehfeld, Dr. George E. Symons, and Edward Weilepp -- along with longtime members Greg Sitek and Gordon Wright. Jan Tuchman, editor in chief of Engineering News-Record, was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2009. In 2010, CWA inducted Kirk Landers, editor emeritus and former editor-in-chief of Construction Equipment and partner in James Informational Media. There were no inductees in 2011-2012.

We like to thank the Award Company of America for their support this year of the CWA 2013 Awards Program.

For more information about the 2013 annual conference, CONNECTED, go to Registration is open and early bird savings apply until Sept. 1, 2013.

The Construction Writers Association (CWA), founded in 1958, is a non-profit, non-partisan, international organization that provides a forum for journalism, photography, marketing, and communications professionals in all segments of the construction industry to connect with other professionals and enhance skills through education. Visit our website at Join us on LinkedIn, Facebook, and Twitter.

Contact Information

  • For more information contact:
    Deborah Hodges
    Construction Writers Association
    1(773) 687-8726
    Email Contact