SOURCE: Construction Writers Association

Construction Writers Association

May 29, 2012 14:37 ET

Construction Writers Association Elects 2012-14 Officers and Board of Directors

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwire - May 29, 2012) - Members of the Construction Writers Association (CWA) elected a diverse group of journalists, marketing and public relations professionals specializing in construction writing to serve as the organization's officers and board of directors for 2012-14.

Effective June 1, 2012, Marc Ramsey, communications manager, American Subcontractor Association, Alexandria, Va., will serve as president; Tina Barbaccia, executive editor, Better Roads magazine, Des Plaines, Ill., will serve as first vice president; Patti Flesher, media relations manager, Portland Cement Association, Skokie, Ill., will serve as second vice president.

"Last year, CWA introduced its E-Learning Series of education webinars designed to provide continuing education opportunities for member and non-member construction writers," Ramsey said. "The executive committee is committed to building on the early success of the E-Learning program by offering webinars to help these writers better do their jobs."

"CWA, of course, will also continue to provide valuable education workshops at its annual conference," Ramsey added. The annual conference, CONNECTED, will take place Oct. 22-24 at the DoubleTree Hotel by Hilton in Crystal City, Va., just minutes from downtown Washington, D.C."

CWA members also elected five new directors to two-year terms for 2012-14: Larry Flynn, industry marketing manager, American Institute of Steel Construction, Chicago, Ill.; Kimberly Kayler, president, Constructive Communication Inc., Dublin, Ohio; Kim Phelan, executive editor, Construction Equipment Distribution magazine, Oak Brook, Ill.; Christina Schave, media relations manager, Two Rivers Marketing, Des Moines, Iowa; and Mark Shaw, Rocky Mountain bureau chief, ENR Mountain States, Denver, Colo.

Other members of the CWA board of directors continuing the second year of their two-year terms are: Tim Gregorski, senior editor, Building Design and Construction magazine, Arlington Heights, Ill.; Matt Jeanneret, senior vice president, communications and marketing, American Road & Transportation Builders Association, Washington, D.C.; Jeri Lamerton, public relations/advertising manager, The Charles Machine Works, Perry, Okla.; Nathan Petrillo, senior program manager, Potomac Communications Group, Washington, D.C.; and Amber Santor, trade press relations, Caterpillar Inc., Peoria, Ill.

"On behalf of the nominating committee and all members, we thank these construction communications professionals for their dedication to CWA and their leadership and service in advancing the association and the industry," said Susan Garritano, CWA nominating committee chair and national communications manager, McCarthy Building Companies Inc., St. Louis, Mo.

Join us on LinkedIn at,
Facebook at
and Twitter at!/CWA_Tweets

The Construction Writers Association (CWA), founded in 1958, is a non-profit, non-partisan, international organization that provides a forum for journalism, photography, marketing, and communications professionals in all segments of the construction industry to connect with other professionals and enhance skills through education. Visit our website at

Contact Information

  • For more information contact:
    Deborah Hodges
    Construction Writers Association
    1(773) 687-8726
    Email Contact