SOURCE: Construction Writers Association

Construction Writers Association

June 06, 2013 21:00 ET

Construction Writers Association Elects New 2013-15 Officers to Complete Its Board of Directors

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwired - Jun 6, 2013) - The Construction Writers Association (CWA) members elected a diverse group of journalists, marketing, communications, and public relations professionals specializing in construction writing to serve as the organization's officers and board of directors for a two-year term. CWA is celebrating its 55th anniversary as an association this year.

Effective June 1, 2013, the following new officers will begin their two-year term: Doug Drummond, president, National Editorial Services, Northport, Mich.; Tim Gregorski, editor in chief for Professional Remodeler, Scranton Gillette Communications (SGC) / Horizon, Arlington Heights, Ill.; Brandon Jaynes, marketing professional, Performance Marketing, West Des Moines, Iowa; Stephanie Johnston, editor in chief for Public Works, Chicago, Ill.; and Lynette Von Minden, senior public relations counsel, Swanson Russell, Lincoln, Neb.

The new executive committee will assume their roles on June 1, they are: Tina Grady-Barbaccia, freelance writer, Naperville, Ill., will begin her term to serve as president; Patti Flesher, media relations manager, Portland Cement Association, Skokie, Ill. will serve as first vice-president, and Nathan Petrillo, senior program manager, Potomac Communications Group, Washington, D.C. will serve as the newly elected second vice-president. Marc Ramsey, communications manager, American Subcontractor Association, Alexandria, Va., will serve as immediate past president.

Returning officers who will complete their second year of their term are: Larry Flynn, industry marketing manager, American Institute of Steel Construction, Chicago, Ill.; Kimberly Kayler, president, Constructive Communication Inc., Dublin, Ohio; Kim Phelan, executive editor, Construction Equipment Distribution, Oak Brook, Ill.; Christina Schave, public relations and Mark Shaw, Rocky Mountain bureau chief, ENR Mountain States, Denver, Colo.

"On behalf of the nominating committee and all members, we thank these construction communications professionals for their leadership and service in advancing CWA as a leading writing association and supporting our mission in connecting the construction industry," said Mike Anderson, CWA nominating committee chair and past president.

The Construction Writers Association (CWA), founded in 1958, is a non-profit, non-partisan, international organization that provides a forum for journalism, photography, marketing, and communications professionals in all segments of the construction industry to connect with other professionals and enhance skills through education. Visit our website at Join us on LinkedIn, Facebook, and Twitter.

Contact Information

  • For more information contact:
    Deborah J. Hodges
    Executive Director
    1(773) 687-8726
    Email Contact