OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

March 12, 2009 14:18 ET


Saturday, March 14, 2009 at 11:30 am Grand Ballroom, (Lower Concourse) Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel 123 Queen Street West Toronto, ON

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - March 12, 2009) -

A correction from source is being issued with respect to the release sent out this afternoon at 12:22PM ET. The title of the release as well as the second Paragraph was modified. Also, a subtitle has been added. The complete and corrected release follows.

Attention: Assignment editors and education reporters

OSSTF/FEESO's Student Achievement Awards will honour students from across Ontario for their outstanding abilities and creativity. This year's theme was Beyond the Screen.

OSSTF/FEESO President Ken Coran will present the awards to the provincial winners, assisted by The Honourable Kathleen Wynne, Minister of Education.

The awards will be presented for poem or essay submissions in the following prose/poetry categories:

- intermediate grades 9-10 academic;

- senior grades 11-12 university;

- senior, grades 11-12 college/workplace;

- French and

For creative entries in the following categories:

- visual arts intermediate;

- visual arts senior;

- French or English video/audio/animation.

Entries are judged at four successive levels: school, district, regional and provincial. The competition is open to all Ontario public high school students.

The award winners, their sponsoring teacher and guests will be available for photos and interviews following the presentation.

A media package that contains a booklet reproducing the award winning submissions will be released at the ceremony.


The Student Achievement Awards ceremony features a professionally produced 15-minute video about the students and their winning submissions. This video will be distributed on request for broadcast approximately one week after the ceremony. Please contact the OSSTF/FEESO provincial office to arrange delivery.

Student Achievement Awards regional and provincial winners
Provincial winners' names are marked with an (i).

Prose/Poetry, Intermediate, 9-10 Academic
OSSTF/FEESO district Student's Name School

D.6A, Superior North Mitchell Hannusch(i) Hammarskjold HS,
Thunder Bay
D. 2, Algoma Kelsey Greer Central Algoma SS,
D.11, Thames Valley Ayeda Sayeed Medway HS, Arva
D. 22, Niagara April Chilton Grimsby SS, Grimsby
D. 14, Kawartha Pine Ridge Kylie Mainer Thomas A. Stewart SS,

Prose/Poetry, Intermediate, 9-10 Applied/Essential
OSSTF/FEESO district Student's Name School

D. 19, Peel Kyle Miller Heart Lake SS, Brampton
D. 1, Ontario North East Travis Tinney Kirkland Lake DCS,
Kirkland Lake
Undisclosed Undisclosed
district recipient(i) Undisclosed school

Prose/Poetry, Senior 11-12, College/Workplace
OSSTF/FEESO district Student's Name School

D. 25, Ottawa-Carleton Lucia Petosa(i) Adult High School, Ottawa
D. 2, Algoma Mariah Michaud Korah C&VI, Sault Ste.
D. 10, Lambton Kent Marcus Moyneur Northern C&VI, Sarnia

Prose/Poetry, 11-12, University
OSSTF/FEESO district Student's Name School

D.22, Niagara Sarah Richmond Grimsby SS, Grimsby
D.14, Kawartha Pine Ridge Jenna Gordon Thomas A. Stewart SS,
D. 1, Ontario North East Anthony Dal Pai Kirkland Lake DCS,
Kirkland Lake
D. 10, Lambton Kent Morgan Nasr(i) Northern C&VI, Sarnia
D. 6B, Superior North Sarah Lavoie Manitouwadge HS,
D. 22, Niagara Anya Baker(i) Ridgeway Crystal
Beach HS, Ridgeway

Prose/Poetry, French
OSSTF/FEESO district Student's Name School

D. 16, York Region Madeleine Heaven(i) Pierre Elliott Trudeau HS,

Visual Arts, Intermediate
OSSTF/FEESO district Student's Name School

D. 3, Rainbow Amber Holderny Espanola HS, Espanola
Jillian Charlene
D. 10, Lambton Kent Vanderlinde St. Clair SS, Sarnia
D. 12, Toronto Abeer Qa'aty(i) Northview Heights SS,

Visual Arts, Senior
OSSTF/FEESO district Student's Name School

D. 3, Rainbow Amanda Smith Espanola HS, Espanola
D. 11, Thames Valley Lindsay Corbett College Avenue SS,
D. 19, Peel Singithi Kandage Mayfield SS, Brampton
D. 29, Hastings-Prince Edward Cindy Kim(i) Centennial SS, Belleville

Creative - video/audio/animation
OSSTF/FEESO district Student's Name School

Dylan Titta Ferrante
D. 6B, Superior North and Josh Taylor Geraldton Composite HS,
D. 4, Near North Dustin Rivers Parry Sound HS,
Parry Sound
Alec Bell, John Lee
D. 23, Grand Erie and Ryan Beechey(i) Paris DHS, Paris
D. 22, Niagara Jessica Droujko A.N. Myer SS, Niagara
Marcus Sullivan
D. 25, Ottawa-Carleton & Team Canterbury HS, Ottawa

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, attendance counsellors, and many others in education.

Contact Information

  • Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF)
    Craig Brockwell at (416) 751-8300
    until Thursday, March 12, 4:30 pm;
    Friday, March 13, 2:00 pm to Monday, March 15
    at the Sheraton Centre Hotel or cell: (647) 393-9017