Mental Health Commission of Canada

Mental Health Commission of Canada

September 07, 2007 17:12 ET

CORRECTION FROM SOURCE: Mental Health Commission of Canada Appoints Four Executives to Its Team

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - Sept. 7, 2007) -

A correction from source is issued with respect to the release sent out on September 7, 2007 at 11:53 am ET. The correct release follows:

The Honourable Tony Clement, federal Minister of Health and the Honourable Michael Kirby, Chair of the Mental Health Commission of Canada, today announced the appointment of four senior executives to Canada's new Mental Health Commission.

- Glenn Thompson, Interim President;

- Dr. John Service, Executive Director;

- Phil Upshall, Advisor, Stakeholder Relations, and

- Dr. Howard Chodos, Director of the Office of the Chair.

The senior executives will be responsible for working closely with the Board of Directors and Advisory Committees to fulfill the Commission's mandate.

Establishing the Mental Health Commission was a commitment of Canada's New Government, and on Friday, August 31, 2007 Prime Minister Stephen Harper formally launched the body by announcing its Board of Directors and Advisory Committee Chairs.

"Mental Health is a significant public health issue that is affecting individuals and families across the country, and as Canada's Minister of Health I am proud that we now have a new national agency to bring about positive change," said Minister Tony Clement. "With today's announcement of four senior executives, we truly have an impressive national and qualified team who are passionate and committed to the Commission's mandate."

"I am very pleased to welcome these four outstanding individuals to our team," Mr. Kirby said. "The knowledge and expertise they bring from the mental health arena will further enhance the Commission's focus on mental health issues on a national level."

The new appointees will be responsible for working closely with the Commission's Board of Directors and Advisory Committees to work toward:

- Facilitating development of the national mental health strategy;

- Conducting a 10-year anti-stigma campaign; and

- Building a knowledge exchange centre.

In addition, the appointees will be responsible for continuing to foster an open dialogue on mental illness issues with stakeholders and members of the public from across Canada.

The search for a permanent president for the Commission is continuing.

About the Mental Health Commission of Canada

The Mental Health Commission of Canada is a non-profit national organization created to focus attention on mental health issues and to work to improve the health and social outcomes of people living with mental illness. The Commission is governed by a Board of Directors, consisting of 11 non-governmental directors, and seven who are appointed by the Federal, Provincial and Territorial governments, as well as the Chair - The Honourable Michael Kirby - who was appointed by the Government of Canada. The Board is assisted in its work by eight Advisory Committees.

BACKGROUNDER - Biographies

Glenn Thompson, Interim President

- Glenn recently served nine months as Interim President of the Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA)

- Prior to filling the Interim President role, Glenn was CEO at the CMHA Ontario Division for nine years

- Prior to his leadership in the CMHA, Glenn was a Deputy Minister in the Government of Ontario for 16 years.

- Glenn has also served with the Nunavut government as the Executive Director and Director of Mental Health Services for the Baffin Region of the Department of Health and Social Services.

- Currently, Glenn is chairing a committee on the administration of psychotropic drugs for the Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services in Ontario and has just completed serving as co-chair of the Depression Strategy Advisory Committee for the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care in Ontario

Dr. John Service, Executive Director

- Executive Director for the Canadian Psychological Association (CPA), for the past 14 years

- Prior to becoming Executive Director of the CPA, John was a clinical psychologist with the Aberdeen Hospital in New Glasgow, Nova Scotia

- John was Chair of the following organizations: Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health, the Canadian Consortium for Research, the Enhancing Interdisciplinary Collaboration in Primary Health Care Initiative and the Health Action Lobby

- John brings extensive contacts from the Federal, Provincial and Territorial government's to the Commission

Phil Upshall, Advisor Stakeholder Relations (part-time)

- Phil is currently the National Executive Director and Founder of the Mood Disorders Society of Canada

- Phil is also a member of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Advisory Board for the Institute of Neurosciences, Mental Health and Addiction

- Phil has also served as Chair and CEO of the Canadian Association for Mental Health and Mental Illness (CAMHMI)

Dr. Howard Chodos, Director of the Office of the Chair

- Prior to joining the Commission, Dr. Chodos was Director of Research for the Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology, during the writing of its report on mental health in Canada - Out of the Shadows at Last

- Howard also brings to the Commission an outstanding knowledge of mental health policies and issues as well as extensive networks among mental health researchers and the broader stakeholder community.

Contact Information

  • Karyo-Edelman
    Stephen Burega
    (604) 561-4640
    Heather Brown
    (416) 882-5515
    Health Canada
    Alastair Sinclair
    (613) 957-1803
    Federal Minister of Health Canada
    Office of the Honourable Tony Clement
    Erik Waddell
    (613) 957-0200