December 22, 2008 14:54 ET

CPA-Attorney Honored With National Lifetime Service Award in Estate Planning

Byrle M. Abbin, JD, CPA, AEP (Distinguished) Honored With Hartman Axley Lifetime Service Award by the National Association of Estate Planners & Councils

MCLEAN, VA--(Marketwire - December 22, 2008) - The National Association of Estate Planners & Councils (NAEPC) has honored Byrle M. Abbin, JD, CPA, AEP (Distinguished) of McLean, VA as the 2008 recipient of the Hartman Axley Lifetime Service Award. The award was presented at the 45th Annual Conference of the Association on November 14, 2008 in Scottsdale, Ariz. NAEPC, the multi-disciplinary association of choice for estate planners, has over 200 affiliated local estate planning councils with combined memberships of over 24,000 throughout the United States.

Mr. Abbin, a Managing Director of WTAS LLC, was selected for this award in recognition of his many years of dedicated service, both to the NAEPC and in the field of estate planning. He is the fifth recipient of this award recognizing excellence within the profession and service to the NAEPC.

Mr. Abbin served as president of the NAEPC-affiliated Chicago Estate Planning Council during the 1979/80 season and has presented technical and planning topics before the NAEPC national meeting as well as numerous estate planning councils throughout the United States.

Mr. Abbin has spoken over a hundred times before most major tax and estate planning conferences and institutes and the ALI-ABA Large Estates Course of Study. He has authored over 150 articles on estate and succession planning, and related fiduciary income tax topics. He is author or co-author of several nationally recognized tax treatises, including "Income Taxation of Fiduciaries and Beneficiaries" (CCH) and "Tax Economics of Charitable Giving" (Warren, Gorham and Lamont). He has served on various AICPA tax committees and task forces, a joint ABA-AICPA committee on relationship between lawyers and CPAs, and several major tax policy organizations based in Washington, D.C. He also serves on the advisory boards of the Heckerling Institute on Estate Planning, Estate Planning Journal and Tax Mgt. Estates, Gifts and Trust Journal. He served on the boards of a major rehabilitation hospital, a Boy Scout council and a social service organization, for which he authored a booklet on charitable giving.

"This award is the culmination of a career spanning over 50 years," said Byrle Abbin, "It is most meaningful to me because it is presented by my peers and colleagues, and especially as it bears the name of my longtime colleague and friend, Hartman Axley. I am truly humbled by this recognition."

Mr. Abbin's educational background includes a BBA with distinction from the University of Michigan and a JD from Harvard Law School. He received the Elijah Watts Sells Gold Medal Award in 1959 for the best paper submitted in the national CPA examination, and in 2002 the AICPA honored him with the Arthur J. Dixon Award, the accounting profession's highest recognition for distinguished service in the field of taxation.

NAEPC is a national organization of Accredited Estate Planner (AEP) and Estate Planning Law Specialist (EPLS) designation holders and approximately 200 affiliated estate planning councils focused on establishing and monitoring the highest professional and educational standards. NAEPC fosters public awareness of the quality services rendered by professionals who meet these standards. NAEPC builds a team approach involving cross-professional disciplines to better serve the public's need in estate planning. Visit for more information.

Mr. Abbin may be contacted at WTAS LLC (, 1600 Tysons Boulevard, Suite 300, McLean, VA 22102.

For more information about the Hartman Axley Lifetime Service Award, or to schedule an interview with Kathleen J. Belmonte, CTFA, AEP, President of NAEPC, please contact Eleanor M. Spuhler at (866) 226-2224 or

Contact Information