August 14, 2007 14:21 ET

Critically Acclaimed DJ Rekha Announces Release of Debut Album -- "DJ Rekha Presents Basement Bhangra" -- Out Fall 2007 on KOCH Records

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - August 14, 2007) - Critically acclaimed DJ Rekha embarks on the next chapter of her career and announces the release of her highly anticipated debut album -- "DJ Rekha Presents Basement Bhangra" -- out Fall 2007 on KOCH Records. On her debut, "Basement Bhangra," DJ Rekha invites the listener to go with her into a world that merges the traditional Bhangra music of South Asia and the Hip-Hop beats of today; this disc really takes you on a journey into the infectious, expanding South Asian dance music genre known as Bhangra. The listener will be able to experience some of the music that is heard at DJ Rekha's own internationally known event called Basement Bhangra, the New York dance party -- which takes place every first Thursday of the month at Sounds of Brazil (S.O.B.'s) -- that DJ Rekha has spearheaded and nurtured for more than ten years now.

Encapsulating the energy and intensity of the cultural phenomenon that is Basement Bhangra, this 17-track album is a mix CD -- with four exclusive tracks including two original productions from Rekha -- the music is designed for those who are already immersed in the sound and encourages new listeners who are bold enough to jump in headfirst. DJ Rekha has collaborated with an array of incredible artists including Wyclef Jean, Panjabi MC, and Bikram Sing -- to name a few. The album skillfully weaves together Punjabi folk traditions and dancehall rhythms from Jamaica and DJ techniques that are 100% New York. This record is sure to connect DJ Rekha with a larger musical audience and at the same time, introduce new listeners to the pulsating beats and rhythms that fill her often sold-out events which capture the cross-section of the lively musical culture that marries the sounds of New York City and the Indian region of Punjab.

Born in London, proudly raised in Queens and Westbury, Long Island, Rekha Malhotra is a cultural instigator who's established herself as a musical pioneer and community activist. Newsweek recognized her as one of the most influential South Asians in the US, and she has been praised by The New York Times, CNN, The Fader, Village Voice, and The Washington Post, among others. She has been relentless in her mission to bring South Asian Music and Culture to New York by spinning at events like P.S. 1's Warm Up Series, Central Park's Summerstage, Soundlab and Brooklyn Museum's First Saturdays as well as her own parties including Mutiny, Bollywood Disco and the incredibly popular Basement Bhangra.

She is known for her extraordinary musical range and was even chosen by documentarian Sarah Jones to work on the Obie Winning show "Bridge and Tunnel." Rekha was also picked to be Associate Producer and Music Supervisor for the NPR Documentary "Feet in Two Worlds." DJ Rekha's talents further extend into her own production company Sangament, which produces live concerts and provides specialized music consulting services to numerous businesses in the record industry.

Rekha is planning to celebrate the release of this breakthrough record with a National tour. We will be announcing dates shortly.

Despite her busy schedule, DJ Rekha remains connected within the South Asian community as well. "I create spaces as well as make music," says Rekha. "The best way for an artist to make an impact is to use what they do to make a change." She serves on the boards of Breakthrough, a human rights organization, and Pop and Politics, as well as raising funds and awareness for a diverse range of causes. In addition, she lectures extensively at colleges and institutions about Bhangra and South Asian cultural production.

Track Listing

"DJ Rekha Presents Basement Bhangra":
1.  **Basement Bhangra Anthem - DJ Rekha and Sunil Shgal featuring Bikram
    Singh and Wyclef Jean
2.  *Fakir - Sunil Sehgal featuring Pappi Gill
3.  Snake Charmer - Punjabi MC
4.  *Aaja Nachiye Boliyan Paiye - Tigerstyle featuring Gunjan
5.  Teri Sadi - Taz Dhillon featuring Amar Arshi
6.  Tere Toor - Subs vs. Apache Indian
7.  Panj Bindiyaan - Ominous DJs featuring Lehmber
8.  Boli Panieh - DJ Sanj featuring Soni Pabla
9.  Tin Cheejha - Dr. Zeus featuring Lehmber
10. Devi Rhythm - Eddie Stats & Dinesh
11. Dhol, Dark, and Handsome - The Dhol Foundation
12. Akh Mastani (Punjabi Drums Mix) - Tigerstyle featuring Labh Janjua
13. Pasand - Mentor Koektiv
14. Glassy - Sona Family featuring Hard Kaur
15. Sexy Boy - Hard Kaur
16. Bhanghall - DJ Rekha and Dave Sharma
17. Gur Nal Ishq Mitha - Malkit Singh remixed by Bally Sagoo

*  - indicates tracks exclusive to the album
** - indicates tracks exclusive to the album and produced by DJ Rekha

About KOCH Entertainment

KOCH Entertainment, founded in 1987 and now in its twentieth year, is the leading and fastest-growing independent music company in the U.S. KOCH's operations encompass record and video labels as well as distribution companies in the U.S. and Canada. KOCH Entertainment is the market leader among independent labels and distributors in both the U.S. and Canada and its record label KOCH Records had the largest number of Billboard charting albums among independents for six years in a row (2001 - 2006). KOCH Entertainment is owned by Entertainment One Ltd. which has been recently listed on the London Stock Exchange's AIM market (ticker symbol "ETO").

About The TWISTED Group

The TWISTED Group is one of the most respected brand names in dance and club music, a living legend that helped define and shape today's international DJ culture. Its flagship imprint TWISTED Records and its heritage label TRIBAL have launched careers of the genre's biggest talents including Danny Tenaglia, Deep Dish, Funky Green Dogs/Murk, Junior Vasquez, Peter Rauhofer, Superchumbo, and many more. For more on TWISTED, visit

Contact Information