SOURCE: Atlantic Records

Atlantic Records

February 29, 2012 13:08 ET

Crystal Fighters Set to Conquer America; Acclaimed British/Basque Band Ready Debut US EP in Advance of Highly Anticipated Tour; Dates Include Multiple SXSW Showcases Plus Headline Shows in NYC, Miami, Los Angeles, and San Francisco; "PLAGE" EP Arrives March 20th

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - Feb 29, 2012) - Atlantic recording group Crystal Fighters unveils details of their much anticipated US debut EP. "PLAGE" officially arrives on these shores on March 20th.

"PLAGE" is a techno-infused ukulele pop symphony hailed by NME as "an irresistible whirlwind of sound... infectiously, chaotically, totally brilliant." In addition, the new EP includes remixes from some of today's most intriguing dancefloor artists including Felix Cartal & more. "Plage" is also featured on Crystal Fighters' critically acclaimed full-length, "STAR OF LOVE," which is slated for US re-release this spring. Listen to "Plage" here:

Crystal Fighters will herald the "PLAGE" EP release with a number of highly anticipated US live dates, kicking off in mid-March with a series of SXSW performances in Austin, Texas. The SXSW schedule will see the London-based band appearing at an array of showcases and parties, including "The Warner Sound Captured by Nikon" at La Zona Rosa, The Windish Agency, and The Agency Group. As if that weren't enough, Crystal Fighters then head off for headline dates in Miami, New York City, San Francisco, and Los Angeles (see itinerary below).

Since coming together in 2007, Crystal Fighters have earned ecstatic acclaim for their unprecedented fusion of experimental electronica, punk rock beats and the organic folk instruments of the Basque region of Spain. The band's name 'Crystal Fighters' came from an opera composed by enigmatic Basque singer Laure Stockley's grandfather in the latter years of insanity, which Sebastian, Graham & Gilbert, the core of the band, describe as a "bizarre poetical opera about Basque music, Basque mythology and his experiences in the Basque country when he was growing up and around the world." Crystal Fighters formed with the ambition to capture and continue the themes and style evoked by the opera, retaining Basque influences through visual elements used in their live show and the use of traditional Basque instruments such as a txalaparta.

"Xtatic Truth," the band's first single, arrived in 2009 via the cutting edge French label, Kitsuné. Named as BBC Radio 1's "Record of the Week," the track quickly catapulted Crystal Fighters to the forefront of contemporary dance music.

"STAR OF LOVE" arrived in 2010 and further cemented Crystal Fighters' status as truly idiosyncratic, inventive musical explorers. The album -- which includes the hit singles, "I Love London," "In The Summer," "At Home," and "Plage" -- was hailed throughout the international press, including a four-out-of-five starred rave review in the ever-influential Mojo.

What's more, Crystal Fighters drew further applause for the breakneck energy and captivating beauty of its dramatic live performances, with Mixmag declaring them to be "the single most exciting live show in dance music." The band has spent much of the past two years on the road, with countless headline shows and international festival appearances across Europe, Australia, Japan, and the UK.

For more information, please see and


US Tour 2012
14 Austin, TX (SXSW) The Windish Agency at 501 Studios
15 Austin, TX (SXSW) "The Warner Sound Captured by Nikon" at La Zona Rosa
15 Austin, TX (SXSW) The Agency Group at Latitude
17 Miami, FL Kitsuné @ Chalk
19 Brooklyn, NY Glasslands
20 New York, NY The Studio @ Webster Hall
22 San Francisco, CA Kitsuné @ Mezzanine
26 Los Angeles, CA School Night @ Bardot

Contact Information