SOURCE: Atlantic Records

Atlantic Records

April 11, 2012 14:32 ET

Crystal Fighters Shine on America; British/Basque Band Announce Arrival of Acclaimed Debut Album, "STAR OF LOVE"; North American Tour Begins May 21st in Philadelphia; "STAR OF LOVE" Available Everywhere on April 24th

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - Apr 11, 2012) - Atlantic recording group Crystal Fighters has announced the US release of their acclaimed debut album. In addition to the dazzling single, "Plage," the US release includes two new songs: the unique "Earth Island," and a cover of cult-Spanish band Golpes Bajos' "Fiesta." Listen to "Earth Island" here: "STAR OF LOVE" will be available here on April 24th.

Crystal Fighters will celebrate the release of "STAR OF LOVE" with a full scale North American tour. The 3-week trek gets underway May 21st at Philadelphia's Union Transfer and continues through early June, including performances at Music Hall of Williamsburg in New York City and Echoplex in Los Angeles (see itinerary below).

Crystal Fighters draw worldwide applause for the breakneck energy and captivating beauty of their dramatic live performances, with Mixmag declaring them to be "the single most exciting live show in dance music." The band recently performed at this year's SXSW not to mention selling out venues from Miami to New York City, San Francisco to Los Angeles.

Crystal Fighters have spent much of the past two years on the road, with countless headline shows from Europe to Australia, Russia to Japan and beyond. The summer of 2011 saw the band perform at over 40 festivals, from late night raves at Bestival (UK) and Benicassim (Spain) to bewitching crowds at Montreux Jazz (Switzerland) and Moseley Folk Festival (UK). Last fall, having previously supported Foals, the band sold out their Shepherd's Bush Empire headline show in London.

Since coming together in 2007, Crystal Fighters have earned ecstatic acclaim for their unprecedented fusion of experimental electronica, punk rock beats and the organic folk instruments of the Basque region of Spain. The band's name 'Crystal Fighters' came from an opera composed by enigmatic Basque singer Laure Stockley's grandfather in the latter years of insanity, which Sebastian, Graham & Gilbert, the core of the band, describe as a "bizarre poetical opera about Basque music, Basque mythology and his experiences in the Basque country when he was growing up and the world around him."

Profoundly inspired by the opera and the dark, melodic sounds of traditional Spanish folk music, the group soon began melding unique Basque instruments like txalaparta, danbolin, and txistu with booming basslines and euphoric electronic funk -- Crystal Fighters were born.

Crystal Fighters recently made their US debut with the "PLAGE" EP, highlighted by the glorious title track, a techno-infused ukulele pop symphony hailed by NME as "an irresistible whirlwind of sound...infectiously, chaotically, totally brilliant."

For more information, please see


North American Tour 2012

21 Philadelphia, PA Union Transfer
22 Washington, DC Rock and Roll Hotel
23 Brooklyn, NY Music Hall of Williamsburg
25 Montreal, QC Il Motore
26 Toronto, ON Wrongbar
27 Chicago, IL Empty Bottle
31 Vancouver, BC Fortune Sound Club
2 Portland, OR Wonder Ballroom
4 San Francisco, CA The Independent
5 Los Angeles, CA Echoplex

Contact Information