CSA Group

CSA Group

June 26, 2013 09:15 ET

CSA Group Announces Appointment of New Chair, Vice Chair and Four New Members to Its Board of Directors

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - June 26, 2013) - CSA Group, a leading standards development and global testing and certification service provider, announces the appointment of Dr. H. Roland Hosein as the organization's new Chair of the Board of Directors and Dr. David Fung as the new Vice-Chair of the Board. Both Dr. Hosein and Dr. Fung were recipients of the 2012 Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, recognizing their extraordinary leadership, voluntarism, and outstanding contributions to Canada. CSA Group today also announces the appointment of four new Board members.

"I am delighted with all of these new appointments to our Board of Directors," said Ash Sahi, President and CEO, CSA Group. "They are visionaries, successful global leaders and intellectuals who will provide outstanding guidance and support to CSA Group as we embark on our new five-year business plan. CSA Group's Board of Directors now includes four 2012 Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal holders and four members holding doctorate degrees."

CSA Group also wishes to pay tribute to Mr. Bob Cook, outgoing Chair of the Board. "We would like to express our heartfelt thanks to Bob Cook, who brought with him a wealth of knowledge and expertise," added Mr. Sahi. "CSA Group values Mr. Cook's service to the organization and we are sincerely grateful for his leadership, guidance and counsel."

The new Chair, Dr. H. Roland Hosein, was elected to the CSA Group Board of Directors in June 2007. Most recently, he held the position of Vice Chair of the Board of Directors, and Chair of the Standards Policy Board. In 2005 Dr. Hosein was recognized with the John Jenkins Award, CSA Group's highest honour; and received the Diaspora Award from the Trinidad and Tobago government for service to Canada. Dr. Hosein is Vice-President, Environment, Health and Safety at General Electric Canada. Dr. Hosein headed the Canadian delegation on ISO TC 207 on EMS and ISO TC 299 on Nanotechnology. He is Co-Chair of the Members of the Canadian Foundation for Innovation and recent Chair of the Board of the Institute of Work and Health.

The new Vice-Chair, Dr. David T. Fung, joined the CSA Group Board of Directors in June 2009, serving on the Human Resources and Compensation Committee. He was also appointed Chair of the Standards Policy Board. Outside of his responsibilities with CSA Group, Dr. Fung is a notable executive member of other organizations including being Chairman and CEO of the ACDEG Group of companies, Co-Chair of the Members of the Canada Foundation for Innovation, Chair of the Chemical Institute of Canada, and Vice Chair of the Canada China Business Council.

Other new appointments to CSA Group's Board of Directors today include Mr. Jimmy LaValley, a Senior Partner at Brimstone Consulting Group, Ms. Norma McCormick, founder and principal of Corporate Health Works Inc., Dr. Robert Page (a 2012 Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal recipient), Director, Enbridge Centre for Corporate Sustainability, and Professor, Haskayne School of Business, University of Calgary, and Mr. Jeremy Rakusin, Vice-President, Strategy & Corporate Development at FirstService Corporation.

About CSA Group

CSA Group is an independent, not-for-profit membership association dedicated to safety, social good and sustainability. Its knowledge and expertise encompass standards development; training and advisory solutions; global testing and certification services across key business areas including hazardous locations and industrial, plumbing and construction, medical, safety and technology, appliances and gas, alternative energy, lighting and sustainability; as well as consumer product evaluation services. The CSA certification mark appears on billions of products worldwide. For more information about CSA Group visit www.csagroup.org.

Contact Information