Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE) - Ontario

Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE) - Ontario

May 27, 2016 21:58 ET

CUPE Ontario elects most diverse executive board in Canadian labour history

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - May 27, 2016) - Led by President Fred Hahn and Secretary-Treasurer Candace Rennick, CUPE Ontario swore in the most diverse board in Canadian labour history at their convention on Friday.

"Our members are committed to building a fairer world for all workers, and they recognize that to do this we must ensure the voices at our highest level of decision making, accurately reflect the diversity of our Province," said President Fred Hahn. "I am incredibly proud to lead an organization that recognizes the value of all people."

"In the face of governments that put the needs of their elite friends ahead of the people and communities across Ontario, we have an obligation to lead the charge in building a world that works for everyone," said Secretary-Treasurer Candace Rennick. "With all the new talent joining our executive board I know we will succeed."

CUPE Ontario's new executive includes:

President: Fred Hahn, acclaimed to his 4th two year term
Secretary-Treasurer: Candace Rennick, acclaimed to her 4th two-year term
First Vice-President: Michael Hurley, acclaimed
Second Vice-President: Yolanda McClean, acclaimed
Third Vice-President: John Camilleri, acclaimed
Fourth Vice-President: Henri Giroux, acclaimed
Member-at-large: Eddie Pereira
Member-at-large: Tiffany Balducci
Member-at-large: Patrick Hannon
Member-at-large: Dave Smith
Member-at-large: Adam Coones
Member-at-large: Domenic Maugeri
Aboriginal Representative: Dawn Bellerose
Racialized Worker Representative: Veriline Howe
Pink-Triangle Representative: Ryan Culpepper
Women`s Representative: Brenda "Dash" Lavender, newly elected
Workers with Disabilities Representative: Victoria Warner, newly elected
Young Worker Representative: Fred Shilson, newly elected
Northern Ontario Representative: Daryl Taylor

The executive board also includes five Sector Chairs, each elected at distinct sector specific conferences.

Chair of Education Sector: Terri Preston
Chair of Health and Long-term Care: Heather Duff
Chair of Municipal Sector: Ann Jenkins
Chair of Social Services: Carrie Lynn Poole-Cotnam
Chair of University Sector: Janice Folk-Dawson

Contact Information