Bell Capital Cup

Bell Capital Cup

January 01, 2014 17:59 ET

Curtain Falls on Successful 2014 Bell Capital Cup

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Jan. 1, 2014) - The 15th annual Bell Capital Cup, the world's premier atom and peewee hockey tournament, came to a successful conclusion earlier today when the final six championship games were played at Canadian Tire Centre.

The 310 participating teams were vying for the Allen J. MacDonald Memorial Trophy, which was bestowed upon each division champion. This year's field was comprised of teams from seven different countries, including Austria, Canada (four provinces and one territory), China, Finland, Germany, Japan and the United States (with representation from eight individual states).

The Allen J. MacDonald Memorial Trophy symbolizes the teamwork, dedication and effort required for success. The four-foot trophy is named in honour of Allen J. MacDonald, a friend, colleague and passionate member of the minor hockey community, who was a great contributor to the Bell Capital Cup. Each winning team took home a replica trophy and a championship banner for display in its home arena, while each player received a gold miniature championship trophy.

Champions from the 19 divisions contested during the 2014 Bell Capital Cup:

Girl's atom AA - Ottawa Ice

Girl's peewee AA - Ottawa Ice

Atom house C - Kemptville Panthers

Atom house B - South Stormont Selects (Long Sault, Ont.)

Atom house A - Stittsville Spartans

Minor atom A - Stittsville Rams

Minor atom AA - Nepean Raiders

Minor atom AAA - Ottawa Sting

Major atom B - Metcalfe Jets River Rats

Major atom A - Midland Centennials

Major atom AA - Kensington Valley Rebels (Brighton, Mich.)

Major atom AAA - Nepean Raiders

Peewee house A - SouthEnd Capitals (Ottawa)

Minor peewee A - Skyland Kings (Stockholm, N.J.)

Minor peewee AA - Gloucester Rangers

Minor peewee AAA - Sudbury Sons Blue

Major peewee A - Pelham Panthers (Pelham, Ont.)

Major peewee AA - Kanata Blazers

Major peewee AAA - Eastern Ontario Wild (Ottawa)

For complete information on the Bell Capital Cup, including final statistics and results, please visit

Bill Patterson Trophy

The Bill Patterson Trophy was awarded to the two teams (one house league and one competitive) that best demonstrated fair play and sportsmanship during round-robin play. A sportscaster for CJOH-TV, Patterson died suddenly on Sept. 22, 1999, of a heart attack. An active family man who is survived by his wife, Pat, and daughters Sherri, Meghan and Sarah, Patterson loved watching and reporting on young athletes and was Ottawa's No. 1 booster of amateur sports.

The 2014 recipients of the Bill Patterson Trophy were:

Nepean Avengers - Atom house C

Mississippi Thunder Kings - Minor peewee A

Bell Sensplex hockey scholarships

Bell Sensplex hockey scholarships are presented to one player from each team that is awarded the Bill Patterson Trophy. The 2014 recipients were the Nepean Avengers (atom house C) and the Mississippi Thunder Kings (minor peewee A). Winning coaches will select a player from their team who best demonstrated hard work, fair play and good sportsmanship. The scholarship recipients will spend a week receiving the very best in on-ice instruction from the professional staff at the Ottawa Senators Summer Hockey Camps, held annually at the Bell Sensplex during July and August.

Other event facts and figures

Number of participating teams - 310

Number of tournament games played - 608 (including Scotiabank-Canadian Tire All-Star Games)

Friendly (exhibition) games played - 76

Number of Scotiabank-Canadian Tire All-Star Games - 4

Number of Scotiabank-Canadian Tire Skills Competitions - 22 (more than 4,500 players participated in this year's skills competitions)

Estimated economic impact from this year's event - $12 million to province

Estimate of money raised for charity and minor hockey this year - more than $100,000

Fifteen (15) year total of money raised for charity and minor hockey - more than $2.6 million

Contact Information