Canadian Urban Transit Association

Canadian Urban Transit Association

November 16, 2012 12:47 ET

CUTA Presents 2012 Individual Leadership Awards

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 16, 2012) - The Canadian Urban Transit Association (CUTA) presented its Individual Leadership Awards in Toronto on Wednesday 14 November, 2012. The CUTA Individual Leadership Awards are presented to upon the recommendation of individual employees to recognize a major contribution or an outstanding achievement in the areas of Heroism, Distinguished Service, Excellence, and W.G.Ross Lifetime Achievement.

The CUTA Individual Leadership Awards recognize individual achievements in the following categories:

Excellence: Awarded to recognize a single major contribution made by an individual which has resulted in the betterment of a public transit initiative on behalf of their organizations. This could be awarded to an employee of a CUTA member, a volunteer or a community advocate.

Distinguished Service: For recognition of superior and outstanding service over a period of ten years or more as a public transit professional. Awarded to an employee of a CUTA member who has furthered the standing of the public transit profession in Canada through professional practice and/or personal relations.

Heroism: Awarded to individuals who have performed a heroic act. The act must be one in which no full measure of responsibility exists between the individual and the endangered party and must go above and beyond the call of duty.

W.G. Ross Lifetime Achievement: Named after CUTA's first president (1904-1906), the W.G. Ross Lifetime Achievement award, a prestigious public transit honour, is awarded to an individual with exceptional involvement in the promotion and practice of public transit in Canada. The Award recognizes the outstanding and consistent effort of a transit employee/advocate for a minimum of 25 years of service who, through their dedication and commitment, has lead to the advancement and betterment of the public transit industry as a whole. The W.G. Ross Award recipients are inducted in CUTA's Hall of Fame.

This year's recipients are:
Heroism Award
Ghislaine Bélair, OC Transpo
Excellence Award
Barby Clément, OC Transpo
Danielle Pronovost, Société de transport de l' Outaouais
Distinguished Service
Yves Devin (Retired) Société de transport de Montréal
Pierre Giard, Société de transport de Laval
Bill Menzies, City of Winnipeg/Winnipeg Transit
Gary Webster (Retired), Toronto Transit Commission
Pierre Bouvier (Retired), Réseau de transport de la Capitale
W. G. Ross Lifetime Achievement Award :
Al Cormier, Electric Mobility Canada
Ed Dowling, Clever Devices
Georges Gratton (Retired), Société de transport de l'Outaouais

The recipients were selected by a national committee of transit professionals. CUTA congratulates all its winners for their outstanding contribution to public transit in Canada.

A full list of recipients is available at:

CUTA is the national association representing public transit systems, suppliers to the industry, government agencies, individuals and related organizations in Canada.

Contact Information