SOURCE: Construction Writers Association

Construction Writers Association

June 21, 2011 08:05 ET

CWA Calls for 2011 Nominations for Silver Hard Hat and Hall of Fame Awards

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwire - Jun 21, 2011) - The Construction Writers Association (CWA) is calling for nominations for its two highest honors, the Silver Hard Hat Award and the Hall of Fame Award, which recognize outstanding professionals and journalists in the construction industry. These prestigious awards will be presented at CWA's Annual Grand Awards Dinner on Oct. 25, 2011, during its annual conference, "CONNECTED," Oct. 24-25, 2011, at the Westin Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas.

Silver Hard Hat Award
The Silver Hard Hat Award is CWA's highest honor and recognizes an individual for outstanding contributions in one of two areas: service to CWA or service to the construction industry. For more information and a nomination form, visit The deadline for nominations is July 15. See the website for more details on submitting entries.

Recent winners include Ron Worth (2010), CEO/President of the Society for Marketing Professional Services, and Bob Nilsson (2009), Senior Advisor, Turner International, LLC.

Hall of Fame Award
The Hall of Fame Award honors journalists for lifetime achievement. For more information and an application form, visit The deadline for nominations is July 29. See the website for more details on submitting entries.

The Hall of Fame Award was first inaugurated in 2008 as part of a yearlong celebration of CWA's 50th anniversary. CWA inducted the organization's founding fathers as winners of the inaugural award -- Robert Boger, Duane Cronk, Arthur A. Faber, James T. Jenkins, Jr., E. E. "Gene" Halmos, Henry T. Perez, William H. Quirk, John Rehfeld, Dr. George E. Symons, and Edward Weilepp -- along with longtime members Greg Sitek and Gordon Wright. Last year, CWA inducted Kirk Landers, Editor Emeritus and former editor-in-chief of Construction Equipment and partner in James Informational Media.

Contact the awards chairs or CWA for more information at 1-773-687-8726 or at

CWA extends a special thank you to Award Company of America and Randall Reilly for sponsoring our awards program.

The Construction Writers Association (CWA), founded in 1958, is a non-profit, non-partisan, international organization that provides a forum for journalism, photography, marketing, and communications professionals in all segments of the construction industry to connect with other professionals and enhance skills through education. Visit our website at Join us on LinkedIn, Facebook, and Twitter.

Contact Information

  • For information contact:
    Deborah Hodges
    Construction Writers Association
    Email Contact