SOURCE: Construction Writers Association

Construction Writers Association

August 12, 2011 13:50 ET

CWA Names Winners of Journalism and Photography Awards

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwire - Aug 12, 2011) - The Construction Writers Association (CWA) will recognize six construction industry journalists and photojournalists for excellence and commitment with the 2011 Journalism and Photography Awards. Winners will be honored in October at CWA's annual conference, CONNECTED 2011, in San Antonio, Texas.

The Journalism Awards Committee selected impartial industry professionals to evaluate the entries. Mark W. Sprouls, freelance writer, Editorial Services, and Bruce McIntosh, vice president, Portland Cement Association, served as judges. They considered writing style/skill, value to the audience, uniqueness of the approach and impact as part of the judging criteria.

Tudor Van Hampton won this year's Kneeland "Ned" Godfrey Award for "Best Body of Work." His articles included "Crane-Failure Case Heading to Court," Engineering News-Record, Mar. 15, 2010; "Killer Knockoffs: Hot Commodities," ENR, Oct. 18, 2010; and "Gensler Tapped for Bond Museum," Architectural Record, Dec. 2010.

"Each piece had different appeal, which showed a range of writing approaches," Sprouls said. "The knockoffs topic is important and was something no one else was writing about. He used many sources to support and balance the longer articles."

The Robert F. Boger Awards honor individuals in four categories. Bill Wilson won the editorial award category for "Don't Block the Goal," Roads & Bridges, Aug. 2010. Tom Sawyer won the feature articles category for "Hot-Linked Jobsites Bring Data Home," ENR, Nov. 15, 2010. Judges awarded honorable mentions in this category to Bill Wilson, "Crossing Out," Roads & Bridges, May 2010, and Aileen Cho, "Hybrid Hero: Award of Excellence Winner John Hillman," ENR, Apr. 12, 2010. Nadine Post won the special report category for "Flashing Red Lights: Is Integrated Project Delivery Too Risky For You?" ENR, May 10, 2010. Bill Wilson won CWA's first video award category for "Construction of the New San Francisco Bay Bridge," Roads & Bridges, Oct. 2010.

William Conway won the prestigious Gordon B. Wright Photography Award for "The Lineman," Daily Commercial News, Oct. 2010.

Award Company of America and Randall Reilly sponsored these awards.

The Construction Writers Association (CWA), founded in 1958, is a non-profit, non-partisan, international organization that provides a forum for journalism, photography, marketing, and communications professionals in all segments of the construction industry to connect with other professionals and enhance skills through education. Visit our website at Join us on LinkedIn, Facebook, and Twitter.

Contact Information

  • For information contact:
    Deborah Hodges
    Construction Writers Association
    Email Contact