Saskatchewan Medical Association

Saskatchewan Medical Association

March 17, 2014 11:53 ET

Deadline Extended: Physician of the Year Award Call for Nominations

SASKATOON, SASKATCHEWAN--(Marketwired - March 17, 2014) - The SMA Physician of the Year Award recognizes the impact of an outstanding Saskatchewan doctor who delivers exceptional patient care while contributing to the well-being of the community or advancement of the medical profession.

The SMA is encouraging patients, communities, colleagues, sections or Regional Medical Associations to take advantage of the extended opportunity to nominate a physician for the award, with a new deadline of April 4, 2014.

"The Physician of the Year Award is a way to recognize the valuable contributions of a Saskatchewan physician who exemplifies the best in quality, care and service," says SMA President Dr. Clare Kozroski. "There are so many physicians in our province deserving of this award, who go above and beyond the call of duty, and truly embody what being a doctor is all about. We want to hear their stories and show them our appreciation."

In order to be considered, a physician must be an SMA member and be living in Saskatchewan at the time of the nomination. The award is presented for outstanding contributions made by a physician either during a particular time span or throughout his or her career.

There must be two nominators, and nominations must include a completed nomination form signed by both nominators, a summary of the candidate's achievements and at least one letter of reference. Nomination forms are available on the SMA website at the following link:

All submissions will be forwarded to the SMA Appointments and Awards Committee for consideration.

The award will be presented at the spring meeting of the SMA Representative Assembly on May 9 - 10, 2014 in Regina.

Contact Information