Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Fisheries and Oceans Canada

September 14, 2005 13:00 ET

DFO/Media Advisory: Minister Regan Meets Asia-Pacific Ministers to Discuss Shared Priorities for Sustainable Fisheries and Oceans Ecosystems, September 15, 2005-Bali, Indonesia

VANCOUVER, BRITISH-COLUMBIA--(CCNMatthews - Sept. 14, 2005) - Geoff Regan, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, is available to answer media questions regarding his bilateral meetings on September 15 in Bali, Indonesia with His Excellency Freddy Numberi, Minister for Marine Affairs and Fisheries in the Republic of Indonesia, His Excellency Keo-don Oh, Minister of Maritime Affairs and Fisheries in the Republic of Korea, and Mr. Kenro Iino, Japan's Ambassador in charge of Pacific Fisheries Organisation Affairs. The meetings focus on shared priorities for sustainable fisheries and healthy oceans ecosystems, and potential areas for co-operation to improve international fisheries governance.

Minister Regan is in Indonesia this week to co-host of the 2nd APEC Oceans Ministers' Meeting taking place in Bali on September 16 and 17.



Date: Thursday, September 15, 2005

Time: 4:00 p.m. PDT (7 p.m. EDT/8:30 p.m. NDT)


Interested media can participate in this teleconference by dialing 1-866-758-2727 and entering passcode no. 728012#. We ask all media to be on-line by 15:55 PDT (18:55 EDT/20:25 NDT).

For more information regarding Canada's strategy to combat overfishing and improve international fisheries governance, visit: www.overfishing.gc.ca. Canada's participation at the APEC Oceans Ministers' Meeting is featured at:

www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/media/infocus/2005/20050914_e.htm.

Contact Information

  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ottawa
    Sophie Galarneau
    Media Relations
    (613) 990-7537