Digital Alberta

Digital Alberta

April 27, 2011 11:00 ET

Digital Alberta Elects Michelle Sklar as New President

New Board Elected to Represent Alberta's Expanding Digital Medial Landscape

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - April 27, 2011) - Current Digital Alberta board member Michelle Sklar was elected president of the organization on April 19th, 2011 at the Annual General Meeting held at Calgary Technologies, Inc. Michelle Sklar is an active Canadian technologist and is the first woman to be elected to the position of president for the strategic industry body. Along with the appointment of Ms. Sklar, three new Board members were elected as well as two Executive board positions to better recognize Alberta's rapidly expanding digital sector.

Ms. Sklar is the European Director of Marketing & Public Relations for Calgary based Poynt Corporation and will preside in the position for a two-year term beginning immediately. Two of the newly elected board members are located in Edmonton and will represent the industry initiatives taking place in central and northern Alberta. The new Edmonton based members are Owen Brierley, Executive Director of Guru Digital Arts College and Lisa Hagen a well-known entrepreneur in the digital and interactive media sector. The final new board member is Steve Buors, SVP of Digital Media Strategy and Product Development for Post Media Inc.

The new board members join existing members, Gert-Jan de Vlugt, Global Content Manager, Smart Technologies as Treasurer and Alex Gault, VP Product Development and Client Services, MoboVivo, as Secretary who will serve in Executive position for the next two years. Former President Larry Jacques will remain on to serve as Past President.

Talking about her appointment as President Michelle Sklar commented, "This past year was an important time for Alberta's digital industry and it is with much gratitude that we thank the board, lead by Larry Jacques as President and Jo-Anne Douthwaite as Executive Administrator, for their leadership and dedication. I couldn't be more enthusiastic to work with such a knowledgeable and passionate team and am looking forward to the next two years. Moving forward, the board plans to work hard to increase our member services, further our professional development initiatives, and showcase Alberta's industry talent globally."

2011-2012 Digital Alberta Board:

Michelle Sklar – President; Adam Goetz – VP South; Logan Foster – VP North; Alex Gault – Secretary; Gert -Jan de Vlugt – Treasurer; Roger Kondrat – Director; Harry Ludwig – Director; Kurtis Lesick – Director; Lisa Hagen – Director; Owen Brierley – Director; Steve Buors – Director; Larry Jacques - Past President

Jo-Anne Douthwaite continues to act as the Executive Administrator and Kevin Dahl with Calgary Technologies Inc. continues to act as an ex-officio director.

The first initiative for the new board is the upcoming 2011 Digital Alberta Awards (formerly known as the mediaFRESH awards), which take place at Hotel Arts in Calgary on Monday June 6th, 2011 from 6-9 pm. The awards program is designed to recognize leaders in innovation, creativity and the evolving digital media sector in Alberta. This year we have 17 categories to include companies that may not traditionally be considered in the realm of digital media, but have pioneered much advancement both nationally and globally. Digital Alberta is thrilled to recognize "Best in Breed" in Alberta based companies. Nominations for the 2011 Digital Alberta Awards are now being accepted at

About Digital Alberta:

Digital Alberta is an industry-led organization devoted to promoting and connecting the thriving digital media community across Alberta, Canada. Through professional development workshops, advocacy work, education, event, and business development activity, Digital Alberta is building the digital media industry provincially and promoting it abroad.

The digital media industry is defined as the creative convergence of digital arts, science, technology and business for human expression, communication, social interaction, and education. The industry spans several disciplines, including but not limited to: audio, video, game design, animation, modeling, simulation, and interactive design.

In Alberta, digital media is considered a key contributor to the provincial ICT industry which is made up of 6,300 companies, 57,000 employees, and generating over $450 million in annual revenues. Areas of key growth in Alberta's digital media industry include: Social media content and applications, Interactive entertainment, Content and applications for mobile devices, E-Learning and games for training and education, Interactive marketing, and finally Standards-based web design and development.

Contact Information

  • Media Contacts:
    the agency
    Arleigh Galant Vasconcellos
    +1 403.561.4810
    arleigh (at) theagencyinc (dot) ca

    Digital Alberta
    Jo-Anne Douthwaite
    joanne (at) digitalalberta (dot) com