November 15, 2011 11:00 ET

Donatella Sciuto to Assume Role of President of IEEE Council on EDA

Sets Goals for Better Coordination of Design Automation Activities, Greater Participation From EDA

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - Nov 15, 2011) - Professor Donatella Sciuto from Politecnico di Milano in Italy will begin serving a two-year term as president of the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) January 1, 2012, along with a newly elected slate of officers.

Professor Sciuto's goal for CEDA in the coming term is to better coordinate IEEE design automation activities and to encourage greater participation from the EDA community.

Andreas Kuehlmann, senior vice president of R&D at Coverity, who has served as the CEDA president since January 2010, will become past president. Other incoming officers include Sani Nassif, manager at IBM, who has been named president-elect, and Yao-Wen Chang, professor at the National Taiwan University, who will become secretary. David Atienza, professor and director of the Embedded Systems Laboratory at EPFL, will serve as vice president of conferences. Shishpal Rawat, Intel's director of business enabling programs within the design technology solutions group, will fill the role of vice president of finance.

Elected to the position of Vice President of Publications is Professor Sachin Sapatnekar from the University of Minnesota, while Joel Phillips, research scientist at Cadence, will become vice president of activities.

CEDA's Board of Governors approved two new board positions responsible for working more closely with its six IEEE sponsoring societies, four technical committees and the growing number of CEDA chapters. The two new positions will be filled by William Joyner, director of Computer-Aided Design and Test at Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC), who will become vice president of strategy, and Professor Rajesh Gupta of the University of California at San Diego. Professor Gupta will assume the role of vice president of publicity.

Also elected for 2012-13 term are seven standing committee chairs, including David Yeh, SRC's director of Integrated Circuit and Systems Sciences, Awards; David Atienza, Conferences; Professor Bryan Ackland of Stevens Institute of Technology, Constitution and Bylaws; Shishpal Rawat, Finance; Andreas Kuehlmann, Nominations; Sachin Sapatnekar, Publications; and Joel Phillips, Activities.

Each will serve for a two-year term that begins January 1, 2012, and ends December 31, 2013.

CEDA's six sponsoring IEEE societies are Antennas and Propagation; Circuits and Systems; Computer; Electron Devices; Microwave Theory and Techniques; and Solid State Circuits. Its four technical committees include the Computer-Aided Network DEsign (CANDE), Design and Test, Design Technology Council and the Test Technology Technical Council. CEDA Chapters have been formed in Belgium, Brazil, Taiwan, Tunisia, with chapters being formed in China and Texas.

About the IEEE Council on EDA

The IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) provides a focal point for EDA activities spread across six IEEE societies (Antennas and Propagation; Circuits and Systems; Computer; Electron Devices; Microwave Theory and Techniques; and Solid State Circuits). It sponsors more than 12 conferences, including the Design Automation Conference (DAC), International Conference in CAD (ICCAD) and Design Automation and Test in Europe (DATE). CEDA publishes IEEE Transactions on CAD and the IEEE Embedded Systems Letters. CEDA is increasingly involved in recognizing its leaders via the A. Richard Newton Award, Early Career Award and Phil Kaufmann Award. CEDA welcomes volunteers and local chapters. For more information, go to:

All trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Contact Information

  • For more information, contact:
    Nanette Collins
    Public Relations for the IEEE Council on EDA
    (617) 437-1822
    Email Contact